Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

A Tail Tale

2 Comments

I saw a movie last night that I just loved called, “Dolphin Tale.” Yeah, I know it’s been out a while. I’m just glad it’s on HBO now. I don’t get to go to many Disney films these days. And it’s a true story!

And there’s a great cast–Harry Connick, Jr., Ashley Judd, Kris Kristofferson and Morgan Freeman. Yeah, no kidding. Great hand to draw to, isn’t it? They’re the kind of actors who ACT like they’d be good people to actually know. Small Town World kind of people. 😉

Anyway, Tale is the story of an orphaned dolphin who got her tail caught in a crab trap. A boy helps rescue her and she ends up at the Clearwater Marine Aquarium.

They have to amputate her tail, and then the amazing true stuff begins. She relearns how to swim, but swims like a shark which will damage her spine and can eventually cause her to be paralyzed.

She needed an artificial tail, but didn’t like the first ones. The people who make artificial limbs had to invent new materials, which are now being used for humans. Humans and dolphins, working together.

Nothing new (our military works with them to find mines and lost objects on the sea floor) but definitely cool!

Of course, the movie brought memories of Flipper.

Remember Flipper? First it was a movie starring Chuck Conners, then it was made into a TV show. Kind of like Lassie in the deep. 🙂

Interestingly, Flipper was played by female dolphins–less agressive and fewer scars. Lassie was played by male dogs. Not exactly cross dressing, but . . .  😉

“Flipper” was really Suzy and Kathy. But to get the part where Flipper walked on his tail, they had to get a male dolphin named Clown. The girls just couldn’t get that trick.

But what’s wonderful is that Dolphin Tale’s dolphin really is Winter, the rescued dolphin.

Of course, I expected a romance between Harry and Ashley that didn’t develop, but maybe that’ll happen on Tale II. 🙂

If you haven’t seen Dolphin Tale, I highly recommend it for everyone. I’d love to pay a visit to Winter’s home. Until then, I’ll watch her on a webcame here.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “A Tail Tale

  1. The guys who created the new material/techniques for the tail are in OKC. I saw a segment on one of the local shows about them. Cool, huh?

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

