Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Purple Tails, Sunflowers and Warm Hearts

10 Comments

Seems as if this was my first weekend at home in forever! When did summers get to be so busy?

We had a couple of uninvited guests run into the house Saturday morning.

There were three to be exact. Isn’t he cute? I love the purple tail.

I caught him with a paper towel and took his back outside. He wasn’t more than an inch-and-a-half long, and he was so light, when the paper towel blew in the breeze, it lifted him right off the ground. He held on tight though. 🙂

Another one ran inside and, when I tried to catch him, right down the air vent. I just hope he can find his way back out.

Remember this guy? I’ve decided he’s not a real sunflower (the bloom is too small) but I’m still having fun watching him grow. G-Man says it looks more like a sun-tree than a sunflower, and he might be right. 🙂

He peeked at me last week.

 And now he has that eye open.

I had to shoot up to get the bloom.

The center almost looks like a heart, doesn’t it? I couldn’t resist playing with it just a little.

What do you think? (I used Photoshop Elements to make the change.) Almost looks as if God made it that way, doesn’t it?

Sunday we celebrated Father’s Day three times. Once in church (where every day is God the Father’s Day) once at Sister Debbie’s house (she makes Chicken and Poodles that taste like Grandmother’s did) and the third time with our boys at Johnny Carinos.

Want to know the best part of family get-togethers (including my church family) for me? The joy, laughter and having time just to be with each other.

Warms the heart, doesn’t it?

How did you spend Father’s Day?

 

 

 

 

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

10 thoughts on “Purple Tails, Sunflowers and Warm Hearts

  1. It’s your fault I’m responding because of the statement above. 🙂 “I had to shoot up to get the bloom.” 🙂
    Otherwise I had terrific Father’s Day with family, food and calls from far off daughters. Make sure you look at my Father’s Day card on Facebook. Most perfect, for me, I have seen in years.

  2. LOL at Larry’s comment.

    I love the lizards, but I do hate finding their little tailless dessicated bodies in the living room cabinets periodically. I don’t think they have a very good sense of direction.

  3. It was our first weekend home in awhile too. We spent Father’s Day relaxing at home and finished it off with a wonderful dinner of BBQ tri-tip, rice pilaf, corn on the cob, salad, and ice cream with fresh strawberry sauce!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

