Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Happy-Face ☺☺☺

6 Comments

I got the neatest present. And it was a complete surprise! I’m not sure who gave it to me. The birds. My man (when he fed the birds.) Or God.

I first noticed Sunny when she stood about knee high, so I pointed it out to G-Man. “Please mow around it.”

He was happy to go with me on that one. 🙂 Pretty soon, we noticed it was growing with leaps and bounds. “I think it grew at least a foot since last night.”

This morning, I glanced out the window. WHOA!

I didn’t plant it, I don’t water it. I haven’t fertilized it. God makes it grow.

He does a much better job than I do!

It’s covered with buds.

When I see a field of sunflowers growing, each only has one bloom at the top. Sunny (that’s what I named this one) has buds all the way down the stalk. Does someone pinch off those buds so the top bloom is larger on the “real” sunflowers?

But I can’t wait to see Sunny, covered with big yellow, happy-face blooms!

And today at the very top–

–a crown!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

6 thoughts on “Happy-Face ☺☺☺

  1. I can’t wait to see it’s sunny face! I have a couple of hanging pots on my patio. They have old geraniums that need to come out pronto! Well…there is now a mama dove in one, and I am suspecting a nest of eggs. So…I guess God wanted me to keep those ugly geraniums around a bit longer!

  2. I love it! I love sunflowers! God must think you’re really special!!!

  3. I’ve had volunteer morning glories that I presume were gifts from birds. I also have a peach tree (that’s bearing fruit!) in the crape myrtle bed that I’m guessing came a rodent dropping a pit there after raiding the trees way out front.

    But my favorite volunteer plant came up in a pile of, um, pupper doo. It was a very healthy tomato plant. It was growing fine where it was, but it seemed unappetizing to people, so I transplanted it to the tomato bed where it delivered lots of good fruit.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

