Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

How Does Your Garden Grow?

1 Comment

I love gardens and gardening. After all, Life began in a garden! (Not original, but true!)

To nourish that love, I took Omega to see Dad’s garden a couple of days ago. (G-Man was working on the chicken house, so naturally I jumped at the chance!)

The baby chicks are arriving today, so no chick pics. Yet. I’m hoping someone will get a few shots for me, because I won’t be there when they arrive.

While I was at Dad’s, I quickly found my way to the garden.

Oh. My.

Dad moved one of his mowers so Omega could get down the sidewalk and at least see the garden from a distance. I got a little closer, but didn’t trapse into it. He and his wife keep it well watered.

That might be why everything looks so good. The last frost date for this part of Okie-Land is April 15th. Just look at what they’ve been doing!

The furry looking stuff (upper right) is asparagus–about as high as my head. (They didn’t share any of the spears, in case you’re wondering.)

Their tomatoes are about shoulder high. Mine are still hanging around my knees, so I must be doing something wrong. (Go figure.)

Nice stand of corn. (I’m hoping to score a few ears.)

This is their lacy-leaf cabbage. It was HUGE! Honestly, it’s at least knee high. The stuff at the store would come just above my ankle. Those two are master gardeners!

They don’t just grow food, either. These are morning glories. (I remember mama growing morning glories at my first childhood home. Sweet memories!)

Dad didn’t know the name of this plant, but said it has big red blooms.

The lake view from their deck. Nice, huh?

They have a telescope that sits just inside so they can watch the bald eagles as they soar nearby. I told Dad I was thinking about building a house right next to his. He said, “You could just move into the chicken house.”

Now that’s an idea!

How does your garden grow?

Have any yummies you want to share?
Related articles

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

One thought on “How Does Your Garden Grow?

  1. Pingback: Camera Catastrophe–Almost | Small Town World

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

