Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

The Fun Part

4 Comments

I had so much fun last night. (Don’t tell anyone.)

Know what I did? Broke a bunch of eggs. 🙂 If I left it there, would you think I was egging houses and TPing yards? I hate to disappoint you, but I wasn’t.

I helped cook the Wednesday night dinner at church and it was FUN! Hot, but fun. 🙂 Cooking that meal isn’t something I normally do, because there are usually a bunch of members there to help out.

But this time, there weren’t. Sister Deb told me several of the usual workers were gone on the mission trip to Joplin, so (naturally) I volunteered. “I can help.”

The menu? Pancakes, scrambled egg casserole with cheese and ham, and oven fried potatoes. But that wasn’t the fun part.

I broke a bunch of eggs (six dozen or so) into a HUGE bowl, scooped out the egg shell that kept sneaking in, scrambled them, added milk, salt and pepper and wished I’d taken some of my fresh dill to put in it.

Someone else cooked most of them. That wasn’t the fun part, either.

I also helped clean up, dried a few dishes, put away a few pitchers and helped make the place tidy, but that wasn’t the fun part, either.

The fun-funner-funnest part? The part that crawled right inside my heart, took root and settled in to stay? The part that’ll sparkle in my memory for a long, long time?

The women. (Knew that was coming, didn’t you?) They’re smart, accepting and funny! No whining or complaining. (Wow!) Just joyful service for the Lord.

Do you know how unusual that is?

I hadn’t really forgotten my enjoyment for working with other women, but I forgotten the energy I get from it.

Fingers crossed–next time they’re shorthanded. Maybe they’ll let me pitch in again.

Or I could volunteer to lend a hand during Bible School. No whining or complaining, of course.

 

 

 

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “The Fun Part

  1. If you had that much fun you could break 2 dozen eggs to help me
    make noodles next time that rolls around.

  2. We cook every Wednesday, with a group of ladies who are ‘regular’ cooks & always those ladies who can’t be there every week, but come when they can! We usually serve 125-150 people. Even though we pray that those who come to dinner get a blessing, we know that we are blessed the greatest!!! It’s always a great time when we are together serving God!

    And you are ALWAYS welcome to come help.

    I had so much fun working with you. Love you, sweet sister of words, who can cook too!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

