Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Designer Chicken House

11 Comments

Chickens

When was the last time you were in a chicken hen house? Unless you gathered eggs just this morning, I’ve got you beat! I was in one yesterday. 🙂

Technically, it’s not a chicken house yet since it hasn’t had any chickens in it. (Except me.) It’s a gonna-be CH. That’s G-Man up there, putting a vent in the roof so the chickens won’t melt in the hot weather.

And, no, it’s not a chicken mobile home so it won’t always have wheels. It’s on a trailer because it’s going to my dad’s house sometime in the near future so he and his wife (and kids, I’m hoping!) will have organic fresh, fresh, fresh eggs.

One of the things I like best about Dad’s wife is her healthy way of feeding my dad. She likes organic and fresh and healthy. Smart lady! So she’s thrilled to have fresh eggs in the near future. (I’m hoping to cash in on a few eggs myself.)

My man was hard at work (hence the serious look) but he stopped for a moment so I could take his picture.

These are the chicken boxes (nests) and roosts. If you were a chicken, wouldn’t you want to live here? I would!

I’m thinking I might campagne for a potting shed made out of one of these buildings. With G-Man’s carpenter skills, it could be perfect!

This is the front door. The one the humans will use.

The little hole at the bottom is the door for the chickens. And the picture window is so they can see the lake. 😉 Not really. It’s so they won’t smother in the summertime. (They’ve made sure it’s breathable in there.)

  It’s a good-sized picture window, isn’t it? I hope the chickens enjoy their designer house, because I plan to enjoy their eggs.

When I was a little kid in Old Ford, we had chickens that lived in a house out behind our yard, but it wasn’t nearly as nice a chicken house as this one. There were several little brown hens and one big, mean rooster that lived there.

I stayed far away from that rooster because he liked to flog humans if he could.

Once the bad boy just smacked me on the knee with his wing and it felt like I’d skinned it on the sidewalk. It hurt!

Then one day, Grandmother was outside hanging out clothes on the line and the silly rooster snuck up on her and started the flapping-kicking-pecking-attack-thing he liked to do.

The next day we had chicken and noodles for dinner–courtesy of Mr. White Rooster. 🙂 Grandmother made the best noodles in the world! (Click on best noodles and it’ll take you to her recipe.) And Whitey wasn’t so bad himself.

Have you ever been in a chicken house? Did you ever chase your grandma’s chickens to see if they’d lay square eggs?

Want to compare notes?

 

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

11 thoughts on “Designer Chicken House

  1. We have 11 chickens, and so far just 2 roosters. I will have to make a post about that later 😉 Love the house though!! Love the chicken – hen house!

    • The thing I envied about another friend who had chickens was the used straw that came out of the chicken house and went into the woman’s garden. Made for a fantastic garden!!! Enjoy your chickies and don’t let your roosters get the upper “hand”. LOL.

      • never thought about reusing the straw 😮 good idea! We pet our Rooster almost everyday (depends on rain) They even come up to our little girl and they let her pick them up. They are pretty good so far, but are still young, only a few months old.

        • G-Man’s sister used to chase down the chickens and pet them. I think they hid after a good petting, though. If you keep up the petting, they’ll probably stay nice. I hope so, anyway!

  2. Susan, I”d have to fight you on “the best noodles in the world”!! It seems as if my Mom holds that title around here!! LOL I am sure they made noodles just alike and I am sure they learned how to make them from Grandma Mitchell. R
    Everything the Mitchell girls cooked was delicious!! Those hens of Carol and Romanza’s are going to have a lovely view!!!

    • So true, Sue. I have a feeling I’d fail a blind noodle taste test, but I’d enjoy trying. Do you make Nola’s noodles? (I’m so not a noodle maker.)
      And you’re right about the hen’s view. I’m just a little jealous. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Life in a Garden « Small Town World

  4. Pingback: How Does Your Garden Grow? « Small Town World

  5. Pingback: Pallet House « Old Things R New

  6. Pingback: Mad Dashes and Sign Language | Small Town World

  7. Pingback: Camera Catastrophe–Almost | Small Town World

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

