Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Wish-I-Could-Bottle-It-And-Keep-It

2 Comments

When I opened my eyes this morning, it was nearly six. *sigh* I know a lot of people love to sleep in. They stay in bed, feel pampered, rested, happy.

I hate it when I accidentally sleep in. I feel as if I missed something. The world is doing and being and happening, and I miss it all.

I don’t get as much written or accomplished, and I feel kind of pfffffft.

So today when I finally open my eyes at just before six, I’m more than just a little disappointed. After dragging a comb through my hair, I stumble downstairs.

And, oh! A great surprise!

The sun isn’t quite over the horizon, so the world is still a little shadowy, all the colors sweet and muted and absolutely gorgeous. The temperature is 59 degrees. Wish-I-could-bottle-it-and-keep-it weather.

Makes me want to sing opera. 🙂 Or at least The Sound of Music. (Think Julie Andrews spinning on her mountain.)

The music is birdsong. We have a mockingbird who likes to go through his repertoire of songs. I’m not sure which bird the rest of the music is coming from, but I’m grooving on it.  🙂

I love mornings!

David must have just experienced mornings just like this one, because he put what I’m feeling into words.

1 Praise the Lord, my soul. Lord my God, you are very great; you are clothed with splendor and majesty. 2 The Lord wraps himself in light as with a garment; he stretches out the heavens like a tent 3and lays the beams of his upper chambers on their waters. He makes the clouds his chariot and rides on the wings of the wind. 4 He makes winds his messengers,flames of fire his servants. 5 He set the earth on its foundations; it can never be moved.    Psalm 104 NIV 

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “Wish-I-Could-Bottle-It-And-Keep-It

  1. Beautiful… we have an owl that says good morning everyday. i like waking up to him!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

