Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Happy Birthday, Sister Debbie!

5 Comments

Debbie gave me this picture several years ago in a frame that says, “Sisters.” She’s the baby,  and that’s our gorgeous mama.

And today’s Deb’s birthday.

One of my favorite things about Debbie is her wonderful and warped sense of humor.I don’t remember what Jeffrey did to crack us up in this picture. Debbie’s seated here, wearing black and  white, and saying, “I’m the nice one.”

That made us laugh all over again. 🙂

Debbie is the sister everyone wishes they had. She’s fun and funny, a wonderful, loyal friend, a cohort in crime and a world class shopper.

Her life hasn’t always been easy, but she’s always taken the high road.

More than the sister of a lifetime, she’s a sister for eternity. Debbie is one of the most spiritual people I know.

Deb is on the right.

When trouble came in her life that would have made most women run to a lawyer, she ran to the Lord. She fasted and prayed for over a year, seeking God’s perfect will.

Thank you, Debbie, for being a special sister of my heart.

Thank you for getting in trouble with me, for being so much like Mama even though I look most like her :), for being there every time I’ve needed you, for having a sense of humor and for know God in a way few people ever do and being so willing to share Him.

Happy birthday!

I love you!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

5 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Sister Debbie!

  1. Happy Birthday Deb! As usual, Susan says it best!
    LY

  2. Oh Susan, thank you for the beautiful words. God truly gave you the gift of words. You make me look pretty good! How blessed I am to have you as my sister, you’ve carried me through many of my hardest days.

    Love you more!!!

    Btw, we might want to mention that I fasted once a week for a year, I didn’t really fast a whole year! But, woohoo, I would have list the weight!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

