Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Confession

3 Comments

Hydrangea macrophylla - Hortensia hydrangea, p...

Hydrangea macrophylla – Hortensia hydrangea, picture from Longwood Gardens (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve always thought I was too lazy to have an addiction, but I have one now.

My addiction is to . . . Gardening Magazines.

Weird, I know, but it’s true. I love reading magazines about gardens.

I have four magazine storage boxes full of them. And yes, I do go back and read them.

Why? you ask. What can they put in one magazine that’s not already been in?

Well . . . I like seeing new plants–right now I’m looking for a Penny Mac Hydrangea to replace the big azalea I lost in the drought last year, next to my porch–and I love seeing other people’s gardens, even if it’s only on paper.

It’s great to read hints and tips about making gardening easier. And I adore learning about people who also enjoy something about gardening. The terminal curiosity in me wants to know how they got started. Why they do what they do. How they know what they know.

There’s not one particular publication I like, really, but I find I most enjoy the  ones that make me feel cozy and in the country. The ones that are about gardens that belong in the Queen’s backyards . . . not so much. And mags about the biology of a plant make my eyes glaze over.

It used to be that I couldn’t pass a GM without buying it. They just held too much allure for me to pass them by! But then I started to notice one picture would be used in several magazines. And some stories were little more than reruns, so I’ve learned to check them out before I buy.

I was just thinking yesterday there should be a GM specific to Okie-Land. After all, we have our own climate issues and areas where one thing grows better than another. And native plants always grow better than imported ones.

Guess what? There is!

Naturally, I brought it home and inside, I saw a picture of the woman I used to buy my plants from when I lived in Pryor Creek.

The couple who owned the nursery started it next to a small motel. I’m not sure if they managed the motel or owned it, but they enjoyed plants and flowers so much, before long they were only in the nursery business. It’s good to know they’re still in it.

It was just a thumbnail pic of her, but she’d hardly changed. They’d asked her for her favorite bedding plants, and her answer was Greek to me. But that’s no surprise. I don’t recognize the “real” name to most plants.

Mine all have names like Hitler, Midget, Columbus and Lazarus.

Do you have GMs you like to read? What’s your fave?

Related articles
Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

3 thoughts on “Confession

  1. Susan, nice blog! I started gardening out of a sheer desire to bring something to life out of my hard work and sweat. I love planting things outside and watching them grow and flourish. Of course, there is always disappointment when something fails, like my egg plants and my Anaheim peppers, but with all things there must be a little disappointment, it’s the only way we learn right. BTW I love Sunset Magazine….Peace Jaz

  2. Hmm…I usually read which ever one appeals to me at the moment. I am collecting magazines right now…for summer vacation. 17 more days of school and I am free! I love gardening, makes sense since I am a farmer’s daughter…Besides the normal backyard findings I am growing a few veggies and some basil this summer. Oh and a surrogate basil plant…for my dear sister who declares that I have a gift with the basil. As hard as she tries she cannot get the stuff to grow. She lives five minutes away and has a second home on the california coast where plants grown out of cracks in parking lot pavement! So as her basil grows I send her pictures! Her response…”oh she is so beautiful”. Summer fun.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

