Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Magic Reruns

2 Comments

Goober died yesterday. 😦

That’s a test–sort of.

If you hadn’t see the report of him dying and you read, “Goober died,” would you have known who I’m talking about?

 George Lindsey.

My family watched The Andy Griffith show without fail, every week from the beginning in October, 1960.

The Andy Griffith Show was a spinoff from The Danny Thomas Show. Do you remember the episode that introduced Andy and Mayberry?

If I remember right (and my BIL, Noel, can correct me if I’m wrong) we don’t see the inciting incident where Andy arrests Danny for not stopping at a stop sign. Andy takes him to the jail/courthouse, where Danny protests he shouldn’t have to pay a fine because there was no road.

Andy tells him they can’t afford the road yet.

Danny argues and decides he’s going to take it up with the judge. Andy says that’s fine. Then he puts on his judge’s robe and bangs the gavel. He’s the judge, too.

I don’t remember what happened after that, except it all turns out good with warm, love-your-neighbor feelings all around.

I loved watching Andy (who reminded me of my dad) Aunt Bea and Opie. I wasn’t a huge Barney fan, probably because some of his mistakes were things I could relate to. Too well. 🙂

I enjoyed laughing at the easy-going Gomer Pyle, and in 1965 his cousin, Goober joined the cast. George had originally read for Gomer, but Jim Nabors got the part.

Jim and George are both from Alabama, so they made great cousins.

From Wikipedia–

Goober was viewed as backward and not very bright. This was perhaps best seen on The Andy Griffith Show episode where Goober believed his new dog spoke English, which then filled his head with make-it-rich scenarios. In reality, the “talking dog” was a practical joke played by Opie and a friend, who had hidden a walkie-talkie under the dog’s collar, giving voice to the shaggy beast.

Although Goober portrayed a somewhat childlike and happy-go-lucky character, he had the ability to view life and people with a sense of wonder and goodness. And, his automotive mechanical skills were exceptional, as evidenced in one episode by taking Gilley Walker’s car apart and reassembling it inside the sheriff’s office, and then taking it apart again, and reassembling it again outside.

I didn’t realize it, but George played parts other than Goober Pyle.

As Lindsey started his portrayal as Goober, he also had a minor role in the Walter Brennan series The Tycoon on ABC. Lindsey also had a role in Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea entitled Submarine Sunk Here. He played a blackmailing taxicab driver in the “Bed of Roses” episode of The Alfred Hitchcock Hour. He was also on Hee-Haw a couple of times.

But Goober is what he was famous for.

Do you remember the Goober Dance? How about Goober’s impersonation of Cary Grant and Edward G. Robinson? He could walk like Chester and sew his fingers together to make a puppet. Remember? Those writers really gave the guy some talents, didn’t they? But Goober loved sharing them.

He loved Super-Heros and movie monsters.

Very few people name The Andy Griffith Show as their all time favorite (some won’t even admit to watching it) except maybe my BIL, Noel, who can answer AGS trivia questions the way my kids can answer Simpson trivia.

It’s not my all timer, either. But I have fond memories of my family, gathering together to watch it whenever possible.

The world will be just a little bit sadder place to live because George is no longer in it. But that’s to the Magic of Reruns. We’ll always have Goober.

Did you watch The Andy Griffith Show? Who was your favorite character? Favorite Episode?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “Magic Reruns

  1. Pingback: Rerun Wednesday | Small Town World . . .

  2. Pingback: Goober Gala « Small Town World

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

