Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Shopping Fleas

7 Comments

Running late this morning, but I have a great excuse. I was out with the dry cattle last night. (Grandmother’s saying. It means I was out late.)

I was busy taking beautiful pictures for you. (That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.)

Sister Debbie, my shopping guru, her beautiful daughter, Mel, and her sweet baby girl.

 This is a baby that you’d dance for, just to see her smile.

 After work yesterday, the four of us drove to a town that’s not too far away to a flea market sale. I’ll give you a hint about where it is. It’s the home of Oklahoma Spess University.

We walked in the gate and here’s the first thing I saw.

Just like the windows in an adorable potting shed I coveted recently.

I thought, “I want those! I could build that potting shed in my yard.” Okay, I couldn’t really build a potting shed, but I’d have them for someone else to use. :)

Deb came up behind me. “I’ve always wanted a pair of those to go beside my patio door.”

But we’d just walked in the gate, so we moved on.

 So many cute ideas.

So many “I wants!”

I even wanted something for my friend. Wish I’d bought it. :(

And this!

 Just like one Sister Debbie and I had when we were small.

The hardest part was checking out with our fantastic buys.

Isn’t this an adorable jacket?

 “Giddy Up or Go Home”.

Loved this jacket. But I complimented the woman (a bunch) and she didn’t offer to sell it, which I would have if I’d had them for sale.

So I decided to wrestle her for it. Warning: Never try to wrestle a woman for an adorable jacket. They’ll kick your hiney.

Surveying all the fun.

And so, as the sun set in the west, we loaded up and headed for home.

Actually, the loading up is the funny part. I’ll fill you in on that tomorrow.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

7 thoughts on “Shopping Fleas

  1. Hello, I’m the vendor of the Windows and Pots – Mamasita’s . Thanks for coming to the Red Barn sale! Opening night was a blast. I enjoyed reading your blog and of course the great shots!! Thanks for sharing!

    • We had so much fun in your Small Town World! I wish we could get there again before it’s over. I hope the storms didn’t slow things down any.
      Hopefully, we’ll make it again next time!

  2. Pingback: Postponing the Fun | Small Town World . . .

  3. I’m reading your blog backwards to catch up! :) Now I see the Red Barn sale is in Stillwater but where and how long? My son John lives there. I must make a visit.

    • I’m so sorry, Terri. It was just on for the weekend. BUT there’s one in Bixby on June 22-24th called Vintage Market Days. I’m hoping to find out what they’re all about, too, if I can get Guru Debbie to go with me. :)

  4. Love your post! Don’t you just love flea markets? :)

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,642 other followers