Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Be My Guest

2 Comments

We had a very special guest Sunday.

This little girl, wearing the fabulous Easter dress, came to our house. She’s adopted, but you’d never know she wasn’t to the throne born. She is one of the happiest, most well-adjusted  princesses I’ve ever met.

She accompanies her mama everywhere–work, home. Work. Visiting. Work.

From what I understand and have seen, she’s sharp as a stiletto.

She does tricks. She can sniff out food faster than she can turn around, which she can do like a ballerina.

She can dance and stand up on her hind legs for a long time.

 She’s very well-behaved. She even brings her bed when she visits as well as her own food. And she points out places where something scary might be, such as a fern in my yard she thought might have a snake in it. Or a gila monster.

Seriously, Sophie is an adopted dog, and very smart. All of my children have animals they’ve adopted.

Don’t tell her, but Molly–

the Queen of our Castle

Molly the beautiful

Molly who protects us from all things evil (like opossums and rocks and gila monsters)

was adopted from PAWS of Tulsa. There were a few hoops to jump through (for us, not Molly) but it was worth every traumatic moment. (Our trauma, not hers.)

Oh, she has a few quirks (tail phobia) but as all writers know, a perfect character is a boring one. And Miss Molly is anything but boring.

If you’re thinking about getting a pet (and why wouldn’t you?) look into adopting. You’ll be very glad you did. And you can tell them I sent you.

It won’t help, but you can tell them anyway. 🙂

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “Be My Guest

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

