Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

10 Random Unnecessaries and One NECESSARY

10 Comments

This is a kind of weird day, so get ready for a weird post. Okay? If it’s not okay, come back and see me tomorrow. Maybe I won’t be as weird then. Or I might be weirder. Who knows?

Random Unnecessary #1: I love coffee early in the morning. Hot coffee. Really hot coffee that burns on the way down. By the time I get to work, I’m usually through drinking java.

🙂 Unless I find a Starbucks. I love Starbucks.

Caramel Macchiato

and Cinnamon Dolce Latte

BTW: They won’t look like the pictures. The hot drinks come in a white cup with a long-haired woman wearing a crown with a star in front.

Green logo used from 1987-2010, still being us...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Yeah, she looks a little odd, but once you taste the coffee for the first time, you won’t notice her again.

If you haven’t tried either one of these, put them on your Bucket List. Try them before you die. They’re yummers!

Warning: Don’t check calorie content. If you do you’ll be tempted to drink their diet version which they call a Skinny. STEP AWAY FROM THE SKINNY. Go for the gusto and drink the real thing! It’s delish!

Random unnecessary #2: I hate Easter Egg hunts. I’m so ashamed. (Not really.) I’ve always hated EEH, even when I was a little kid BECAUSE I COULD NEVER FIND ANY EASTER EGGS.

The first birthday party I remember having was an EEH, and it was awful. We lived in Old Ford in a house with my dad’s parents. Behind our house we had a big pasture or a field. I’m not sure which you’d call it, but it didn’t grow anything but grass and we normally didn’t keep animals there. (We had a few chickens, but that’s all I remember.)

Anyway, Mom gave me an Easter Egg Hunt for my birthday. The kids who came were also my cousins, and they were mostly older than me. About the time I’d see an egg, someone else would snatch it.

I think I cried in frustration, but I might have pouted. Or thrown what my folks liked to call a whing-ding. (Tantrum for the uneducated.) Anyway, my daddy took me by the hand and helped me hunt for the stupid eggs. I even remember him saying, “This one’s easy to find. Let’s leave it for David.” That was my cousin just younger than me, and I liked him a lot, so I agreed.

I don’t remember ever having another Easter Egg birthday party. (Thanks, Mom!)

NECESSARY Thing: #4 is a grandmommy. Again. And the baby is adorable!  It’s not right or fair, but it’s true. She has two grandchildren and another on the way. #2 has three kids making her a grandmommy, #3 has two and I don’t have any.

If I threw a whing-ding, I wonder if it would help? 😉

Random Unnecessary #3: I went to Ozark Bible College (now Ozark Christian College) in Joplin for two years before moving on to study Fashion Merchandising.

Random Unnecessary #4: The first year I was at Ozark, I set a record. I was campused more times than anyone had ever been campused in the history of the school. Hard to believe, isn’t it? 🙂

Campused was kind of like grounded. You could go to class and to eat, but you weren’t supposed to do anything else. At least anything fun. But since we had to be in our dorms by 7:00 and lights out was at 11:00, there wasn’t time to do anything fun anyway.

Random Unnecessary #5: One of my roommates at Ozark and I used to play Gin Rummy by candlelight after lights out. (I hope Mom Thompson doesn’t read this and campus me retroactively.)

I’m not naming any names, but this is my roommate who tempted me into playing.

I’m on the left. My fun roommate is on the right.

Random Unnecessary #6: TVs were against the rules at Ozark. Once this same roommate snuck her TV into our room so we could watch a “star,” who played the ukulele and sang about tiptoeing through flowers, get married to a girl on national TV.

We had to muffle our laughter with pillows to keep from getting caught. There wasn’t enough space for all the girls on our floor to come in our room.

 Random Unnecessary #7: When I was at Ozark, my friends and I liked to swim in a strip mine near the town of Oronogo. It looked like a giant hole in the ground big enough for most of Old Ford to fit in, where I guess some mining company has used high pressure water to wash away the soil and ferret out minerals.

We jumped off high cliffs and swam underwater into caves. (The cave wasn’t underwater, only the entrance was.)

The pit was rumored to be bottomless. “The bottom has washed away because of underground springs, so no one knows how deep it is. Even scuba divers have tried to find it and can’t go that deep.” (Riiiight.)

Supposedly the strip pit was where Evil Doers went to ditch stolen cars, and once an entire train, whose track ran right next to the big hole, fell in and disappeared forever.

 Random Unnecessary #8: I was a basketball cheerleader when I was at Ozark. (You know the old saying: Those who can’t play, cheer.) Once a team from Manhattan, Kansas, came down to play on a school night.

That night, there was an exception made for bb players and cheerleaders. We got to be out late. And after the game, since the team had so far to go back to Manhattan, we had a little get together and fed them.

Cheerleaders were supposed to go straight back to the dorm after that, but I went roller skating instead. AND I DIDN’T GET CAUGHT!!! (For once.)

Random Unnecessary #9: My man and I almost had our wedding supper at Denny’s. (My idea.) Luckily, it was too crowded, so we went to the hotel where we stayed and had a really nice dinner. I had fried shrimp. 🙂

Random Unnecessary #10: Today is my birthday. Don’t ask.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

10 thoughts on “10 Random Unnecessaries and One NECESSARY

  1. What, did you wait till after you left home to break rules? Cause I really got tired of hearing ‘Susan never did that! Or that! ………’. Wish I’d known about your ‘campused’ record back then.

    Denny’s? Really?

    Happy Birthday, you baaaaad girl!

    Happy Birthday

    • I didn’t mention most of my campused problems were because I was such a slob. 🙂 You know that’s no different than when I was home. Yep, Denny’s. But the hotel was much better.
      They gave us a wide mouth metal dish on a stem (think a champagne glass made of silver) with liquid in it. I wasn’t sure if it was to drink or a finger bowl. Thank goodness I drank it. 🙂 Whatever it was, it was good stuff.

  2. Happy Birthday! I love you!

  3. well-behaved women seldom make history… love you and happy birthday! ps. if you start throwing tantrums, we won’t NEED any kids – that might be counterproductive… 🙂

  4. My random unnecessary for the day. “When I was little I use to have to run down the dirt road from my house to my grandpas. Crop Dusters can be scary, when they are sprayin'”

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

