Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

I Confess!

3 Comments

Ever heard confession is good for the soul? I’m not sure if I believe that or not, but I’m going to give it a smack.

Tomorrow is Palm Sunday. Next week is Holy Week. Passover starts Friday, which is also Good Friday. A week from Palm Sunday is Resurrection Sunday, aka Easter. A very spiritual time in the life of Christians.

Here’s my confession–Even with angels singing all around us this time of year, I’m going to tell you about my love for the Three Stooges. 🙂

(That’s right. Today I’m as deep as a mud puddle.)

What’s not to like about the Stooges? Moe Howard, Larry Fine and Curly Howard. Moe and Curly were brothers. And they were funny! My friends and I loved watching them after school. They made 190 short films, each one stupider than the one before. Gotta love a group who’ll act like that to entertain kids. (And adults who are kids at heart. My man laughs out loud when he watches them!)

When the shows stopped having Curly in them and started having Shemp, my friends and I were really sad. But one of our moms told us Curly had been dead a long time and we were watching reruns.

After Curly died, Shemp Howard (also his brother) took over. Shemp died next (that must have been a hard-on-the-actor job) so they hired Joe Besser who was replaced by Joe DeRita. Emil Sitka was the last man to take the third man spot.

With the Stooges, most people either love them or hate them. There’s not much gray area when it comes to slapstick fun. They made a show once where Moe played Hitler (I’ll Never Heil Again) and another where they were Civil War spies. So funny!

My favorite Stooges show has always been the one about the haunted suit of armor. The guy in the armor had peeked at Lady Godiva when she rode buck naked on a buckskin through town, even though everyone had been ordered not to look. As punishment, his spirit was sentenced to live in that suit of armor for 300 years. (I don’t remember how many years, but that sounds right.)

In the end, Lady Godiva rides up, the suit of armor hops onto the horse behind her and they ride into the sunset. And no. She’s not carrying a can opener. 😉

Do you hate ’em or love ’em? If you love ’em, what’s your fav?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

3 thoughts on “I Confess!

  1. Thanks for the reminder. I wouldn’t have thought it was Palm Sunday tomorrow. Faith is important, more that life is harder than ever. As for 3 stooges, they made me laugh so hard as a kid that my tummy would hurt. Thanks for a wonderful post.

    • I checked to be sure I was right, IT. LOL. It’s April Fool’s Day, Palm Sunday and one of my nieces’ birthday.
      You’re right. Faith is what’s important.
      Glad you liked the Stooges, too. 😉

  2. Pingback: Something about Me (Gasp) | Small Town World . . .

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

