Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

My Cup Runneth

4 Comments

A friend gave me a gift that makes me grin everytime I look at it.

Can you read the caption? It says, “DRAW FREELY UPON YOUR IMAGINATION.” And under the quote, it says, “Albert Einstein.”

I love the cup! I drink coffee out of it every chance I get. :) But even more, I love the idea that Albert was so cool. I mean, he’s the guy who came up with the theory of relativity. E=MC2 right?

Who knew a guy who could use his brain like that could also design such cool cups? After drinking out of that cup for several years, I thought I’d see what else Al had to say. Turns out, he was quoted quite a lot.

  •  “Imagination is more important than knowledge.”

Oooh, I love that, because I have way more imagination than I have knowledge. (Okay, we won’t go there.) I’m glad to know at least Albert thought it was a good thing.

Love it, Al!

I kept looking, then landed on this one.

  • “I want to know God’s thoughts; the rest are details.”

Albert Einstein knew God? I’m so gold to know that.

  • “God is subtle but he is not malicious.”

He did know about Him!

  • “God does not care about our mathematical difficulties. He integrates empirically.”  All righty, then. ;)

I wondered what else he said about God.

  • Before God we are all equally wise – and equally foolish.”
  • “God always takes the simplest way.”
  • “God does not play dice.”
  • “God may be subtle, but he isn’t plain mean.”

The way Al worshiped God might not be the same as I do, but he knew Him. Here’s another of my favorite quotes of his–

  • “The hardest thing in the world to understand is the income tax.”

Maybe we should combine this quote with “imagination is more important than knowledge,” and we could have some fun with our CPA. Or, wait. Did Al Capone already tried that?  ;)

Amen to that, brother!

Maybe I should introduce him to Terminally Curious.

I think they’d really like each other. :)

Of course, Terminally Curious wanted to know more about him. He was born in Germany in 1879, later moved to Switzerland, where he became a citizen, moved back to Germany in 1914 where he became a citizen, but renounced his citizenship in 1933 for political reasons.

That’s when he came to America.

He was married twice, divorced once, and had three children–two boys and a girl. And that makes me wonder, Did he bring his children to America with him or did they live out WWII in Germany? How sad would that be?

Did his children have his brilliance and imagination?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “My Cup Runneth

  1. I know his daughter lived and worked with him till his death. She was brilliant too, but she was female. Your quotes….great!

    • I’m so glad to hear that, Allene. I’d hate to think he left his kids behind. The Mitchell Family Motto–Family First! No, that’s God First, Family Second!

  2. my fave– “I want to know God’s thoughts; the rest are details.”
    interesting post!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,642 other followers