Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Guess What’s Here

Leave a comment

WWG (World’s Worst Gardener) here. Know what this is?How about this?

If you guessed Grape Hyacinth, you’re right. If you guessed Muscari–you’re right, too.

And guess what. They’re here!

Aren’t they pretty with dead leaves nearby? I try to save a few leaves in my yard, just to give these babies some contrast. 🙂 (You bought that. Right?)

When we bought our house, we had grape hyacinth growing very neatly along the driveway. They’ve been mowed, sprayed with weed killer, frozen by ice storms and left without much water, but they just keep coming back.

They’re my kind of plant! I call them a traveling plant, because they don’t stay in neat little rows. (I never was good at that, either.)

I find them popping up all over the place. I still have the ones near the driveway, but also in several places around my front yard as if they’re having too much fun to just stay in one place.

I’ve even seen a patch in the area below my wall near the road. That soil has never been amended, fertilized or watered, but they do great down there..

I can tell you three things about them–they’re poison, deer won’t eat them (apparently, deer aren’t stupid) and they originated in the Mediterranean basin.

A few nicknames for them–Starch Hyacinth, Feather Hyacinth, Purse Tassel. I’ve never heard them called anything but grape hyacinth, but don’t you love the name Purse Tassel?

I read they do really well in pots, and will fill up the pot after a few years. I’ve got to try that!

They make really pretty bouquets if you have tiny vases. I’ve used insulin vials for them in the past and sample perfume vials.

They can be propagated by separating the bulbs or by seed. I can’t imagine how tiny their seeds are, so if I ever get around to propagating them, I’ll do the bulb thing.

Of the early plants growing in my yard, I like these best! I think. I like jonquils, but I love the Tassels. 🙂 No, wait. Tulips! I adore tulips!!!

Oh, well. I like them all.

What’s you’re favorite early blooming plants?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

