Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Talk of T-Town

7 Comments

Remember my new(er) DIL? Turns out she’s a really talented woman.

July 23, 2011

 I’m not talking about her talent throwing bouquets.

 Celebrating #4’s birthday.

And I’m not talking about her talent putting horns on my son.

July 23, 2011.

Or her talented legs. 🙂

Picture by Candace Orcutt.

I’m not even talking about her talented way of kissing my son.

She’s really, really good at all those things, but I’m not talking about them. I’m talking about what everyone in T-Town is talking about.

She’s the Talk of Tulsa! Well, she’s one of them, anyway.

What, you ask, is the Talk of T-Town? (Glad you asked.)

http://youtu.be/oonWDItNo_M

It’s Barbershop. Or would that be Beauty Shop? Whichever, it’s four-part harmony I don’t know much about a capella, but they do it masterfully. TOT is part of the Sweet Adelines, an international organization that’s based in Tulsa. (I learned that last night.)

They have a Facebook page. The picture on FB isn’t of the current chorus. It’s an “old” one. But many of the faces are familiar.

Last night we went to hear them as part of their preparation for competition later this month. Everyone looked just alike from the top of their heads to their feet. Same headband. Same earrings. Same lipstick. Same cute, cute blingy collar thingy. (I’m trying to think of a way to get DIL #2 to tell them she lost hers. Then when she has to order a replacement, I’ll get one.)

We had to promise we wouldn’t post their show on blogs or FB or Youtube, but believe me, they’re wonderful.

My man and I both told our DIL she was the best one on her row. (I don’t think she’s ever seen Ghost Busters 2, so don’t tell her we ripped Peter off.)

From what I understand, though, the woman has perfect pitch. Just what I told Matt to look in a woman. 😉

DIL invited me to try out for the chorus, but since I’m not interested in falling down dead with nerves and then being humiliated when people ran out of the room with their hands over their ears while I sang, so I opted out.

No sense giving people nightmares.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

7 thoughts on “Talk of T-Town

  1. I’m pretty sure that was Ghostbusters part 1. Is it odd that I’ve had the “incidental” music from Ghostbusters stuck in my head for the last 2 days?

  2. At least I knew it wasn’t part 3. 🙂
    Must be your Carrie powers that put the music there. Y’think?

  3. I would have to agree with Danny. I must have watched it 800 times when the kids were young. Like yours, my kids have it memorized, especially Ryan

  4. Susan, notice the Lady leaning against tree with gorgeous gray hair?
    She is former classmate of mine that sings lovely. 🙂

  5. Pingback: CONGRATULATIONS, TOTS! | Small Town World . . .

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

