Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Sign of the Times

4 Comments

Remember this?

I showed it to you in January. Loved the look, the thought, the feel of the thing. Turns out, I’m not the only one who liked this kind of thing. (Big surprise. Snort)

Turns out, they’re subway signs. I had no idea, until #4 texted me about them this morning. (I had to look it up to be sure what she was talking about.)

It’s cute, sitting next to her antique coffee can, isn’t it?

From what I read, the original ones were used in subways and have the names of stops.

Interior designers bought these antiques and charged big bucks to hang them in homes and offices. While lots of people like them, not everyone can afford the originals.

Then someone started manufacturing them and we can all afford them. And they decided to have something besides the names of stops on them.

Some list family rules.

Some are prayers, others scriptures.

The picture above some of that art, which is for sale in Celebrations. (A wonderful gift/flower/clothes shop in our Small Town World.)

#4 mentioned one she’d seen on a blog she really liked. It said–

Money can’t buy happiness

but it can buy marshmallows

which is kinda the same thing.

Celebrations

I don’t know if you read comments or not, but Sister Debbie offered to help me make one of these. I’m thinking I’ll have to take her up on it.

What to say? How about–

Share everything.
Play fair.
Don’t hit people.
Put things back where you found them.
Clean up your own mess.
(From the poem, Everything I Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten.)

Or one for the bathroom?

Flush.
Put down the seat when you’re through.
Wash your hands.
Use soap.
Hang up the towel.

Or what I wanted back in January.

I believe in pink. And even better, I believe in RED! I definitely believe in red.

I believe that God, the Father of lights, is the giver of all good and perfects gifts.

I believe that laughter is the best calorie burner, and that joy in those around is us what brings on that laughter.

I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls. And happy kids are the prettiest kids. And that happy guys are the best looking guys.

I believe that all babies are beautiful.

I believe TOMORROW IS ANOTHER DAY.

I believe that reading is the best way to spend a long, lazy day. Or knitting. Or watching movies with my man.

I believe in hugging. I believe in hugging a lot.

I believe in being strong when everything around you is going wrong, because in truth, there’s no other choice. You must either step up or check out.

I believe in miracles–and I have just the sister to prove it.

I believe in Christ as my Savior. My Father. My brother. My Friend.

Of course, it might take an entire wall to post all that. LOL! (There’s nobody as long-winded as a woman who writes novels.)

What do you want yours to say?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “Sign of the Times

  1. Susan, I love all of these! When I started to write what I would want my sign to say, I started to say I believe in pink but I definitely believe in Red! (My favorite color!)

    But then, it came to me ~ the words of that song “I Believe in Every Drop of Rain That Falls….”

    Most of all, I, too, believe in my Lord & Savior, Jesus Christ. For that, I am most grateful.

    The words we could put on signs are important, but the Word of God that we hold in our hearts may be the most valuable words. They are the “signs” that tell the world of the One we love by the life we live.

    Thanks to you for sharing your words with us each day. 🙂

  2. Susan, You might be surprised how many words can be placed on a subway sign. I created one recently that was song lyrics. It filled a 20″ x 60″ sized sign. I loved how it turned out. Chris of subway-sign.com

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

