Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

History of Old ‘Ford

2 Comments

Yesterday I started sorting through the family information I have. I still can’t find the McCrackin family tree. 😦 I printed it off the Internet a long time ago and can’t find it there, either.

I’ll probably never know the distant cousin who created it, but she has my deepest appreciation. Now if I can just put my hands on it again! (I’ll keep looking.)

While I was looking, I found a copy of something that was with in my Grandmother’s things. At the top of the page written in cursive is the title, History of Old Mannford. The page is typewritten with a couple of strike-throughs and another word written over it.

I don’t know who wrote it, or what it was for, but I have a feeling it might have been for a publication. Or it maybe someone copied it from a publication.  I’ll try to pass it on exactly as I see it with everything spelled and punctuated the same.

Here it is:

Mannford came into being about 1895 in what was then known as Indian Territory. The town was located on T. E. Mann and his sister Hazel Mann’s allotments. The townsite was near the Cimmarron River where it was forded or crossed. It derived it’s name from this crossing or ford as Mann’s ford and which later was known as Mannford. Later a bucket or basket seat was erected on a cable across the river in order for pedestrians people to cross without wading. This was called the Flying Genie.

From Me: Grandmother called it the Flying Jenny.

The first dwelling to be built was a log cabin in back of Clayton Greenwood’s residence.

The Frisco railroad was built through the town in 1902.

The bank was organized in 1905 and the present bank building was constructed in 1907.

Some of the first business places were a cotton gin, blacksmith shop, livery stable, and a general store.

The first school was a subscription school and anyone desiring a highschool education had to go to Pawnee and usually in covered wagon.

From Me: Anyone know what a subscription school is? I’m guessing it’s one you paid to go to, but it sounds as if they drafted kids like soldiers. 🙂

The first school building was a one room building located on the lots where the present Nethodist Church now stands. This building place was also used for community gatherings and worship services.

The Methodists were the first denomination in Mannford.

In about 1904 a four room school house was built on the old school grounds.

From Me: I’m not sure what that means. Where the school grounds were when the paper was written or where the subscription school was.

A bridge was constructed across the river in 1912.

Many a stirring an exciting tale was told by the old timers of the wild and wooly west. Of buried gold, cattle rustling, bank robbing by the Dalton gang. This territory was a rendezous for thieves until the U. S. Marshals moved in to restore law and order.

So . . . someone tell me who write this paper and I’ll put a name on my copy.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “History of Old ‘Ford

  1. Susan, I have some info on the McCrackin’s since my mother was one of A.E.McCrackin’s daughters. Let me know what you need. Maybe I have it.

    • Yay!
      I THINK Grandma (Margaret Nancy McCrackin) Mitchell’s dad was Samuel M. McCrackin, his wife Mary A. (buried in West Plains, Mo.) Was his father Peter?
      The family tree I had went back to Ireland. (Apparently they migrated from Scotland to Ireland before coming to America.)
      So do you have that family tree? If you do, can you share it with me?
      And thanks! Cousins–no matter how distant–are the best. 🙂

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

