Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

♥♥♥ WOW ♥♥♥

2 Comments

I have three WOWS! to share this Wednesday. Ready?

WOW! #1–

We had the last night of our Beth Moore study of James–Mercy Triumphs (I know it’s the last one because I can remember the title without looking.) And let me tell you, I was so wowed! I thought the other ladies were going to have to scrape me up off the tile floor to send me home when it was over.

And at the end, she took the study full circle to where she’d started. 1 Corinthians 15:7–Then He (Jesus) appeared to James, then to all the apostles

James, His brother. James, who’d grown up with Him. James, who didn’t believe until after the resurrection.

Beth asked us to imagine the scene when Jesus appeared to James. Did He come up behind James? Did He call him by name or just say, “Brother”?

When I imagine it, the only thing I can imagine is the thrill that must have zapped James’s heart, and he knew.

Jesus, his brother, is Christ. God.  Then (in my mind, at least) the big hug.

I wish I could share the entire study with you. I wish I could start all over again.

Over the weeks I’ve learned so much. I would like to suggest that Beth do a study just on Jame 3. She could call it, “Tongue Training 101. Bring your own whip and chair.”

James 3: 7-8: 7 All kinds of animals, birds, reptiles and sea creatures are being tamed and have been tamed by mankind, 8 but no human being can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison.

I’d be first in line for that one.

Then we were Wowed when Beth recited the ENTIRE Book of James by heart.

Don’t you love that phrase, by heart? When she recites that book, you know she’s using her heart.

WOW! #2–

Sister Debbie. She was called yesterday while at work and asked to lead our small group last night. No time to go home and get ready for it.

Wow! She didn’t panic. Didn’t suddenly have to go out of town. Didn’t call in sick. (I’m great at coming up with excuses.)

She just stepped up to the plate and did a great job.

For me, a great leader is one who’s humble enough to share her failures and weaknesses as well as her strengths and joy in the Lord. Deb is able to do that and so much more.

I raised that girl right. 😉 (Wish I could take the credit!)

WOW! #3–

One of the women in our group had a baby a couple of weeks ago, and she was there with that sweet baby girl for our last night of Triumphs.

Such a pretty baby! And such a sweet mama with a heart for the Lord. (Sorry, no picture.)

I got to play a little bit with the baby’s big brother one afternoon at work. He’d found my nephew’s toys and was having fun with them. I stepped into the room to tell the little guy hi, so he turned giant Leggos into a gun to shoot me with.

As the mother of boys, I jumped into that game with both feet. We had a great battle. I’m thinking about asking his grandmother to bring him back to work so we can play some more. 😉

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “♥♥♥ WOW ♥♥♥

  1. I love your story today Susan. It was amazing to imagine Jesus coming up to James and perhaps calling him “brother”! It sends chills up my spine!! We are doing the Beth Moore study on Daniel, it is also AMAZING! We are all so blessed to have been brought up in Christian families, for this, I am so thankful!!

    • Thank you, Sue. I’m always impressed by what Beth does. We read the same passage, and somehow she get a totally different take on it. I envy the people who work with her–but only in a good way!
      We are blessed, that’s for sure!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

