Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Transitions

4 Comments

I have to tell you about a book I’m absolutely loving. I think you will, too.

The book is called, “Transitions,” by Becki Hawkins, a dear friend I got to know when I lived in Pryor Creek.

Becki is one of the most beautiful women I know–both physically and spiritually. I thank God I had the opportunity to get to know her each time I think of her.

 Looks like a movie star, doesn’t she? She’s not. She’s simply one of the nicest people I know–to everyone she meets. Bar none.

And she’s a fantastic story-teller!

This is Becki with her hubby. Really good guy! They’re one of those couples who make you wonder if they were both always that nice or if one had learned about nice from the other. She mentions him a time or two in her book. 🙂

This is her book. It’s wonderful. So good, I’m running late today, and it’s all Becki’s fault! (G-Man nearly missed breakfast because I was so engrossed in Transitions.)

For most of her career, Becki was a hospice nurse. But these are anything but sad stories. They’re delightful! Wonderful accounts of the souls she met during the years she helped those who were about to die and the families who go on.

I can’t wait to read the rest of her book. I want to see if she included the stories I remember–such as the man who described the angels that were filling his room just before he went Home. When Becki told us that story, I so wished I could have been there to hear first hand what he was seeing!

Even her chapter titles are delightful. Coon Hounds and Chickens, Home To Be With My Boy, As Mean As A Snake, Mink Coat And Tennis Shoes, as well as some that are heart touching–The Black Sheep, The Spirit of the Home, and Do You See Them? (I’m going to pop over and see if that’s the account of the man who saw the angels.)

Please, please, please pop over to http://ladyhawkpublishing.com/ and order her book. You have to click SHOPPING on the right side of the page to order the book, but if you scroll to the bottom of the home page, you can see Becki talking.

She’ll even autograph it personally before it’s mailed to you. After you fill out all the pertinent information (where to send it, etc) there’s a box that says, Comments/Special Delivery Instructions. Ask for her autograph there.

Ps: All pictures swiped from Becki on Facebook.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “Transitions

  1. I echo every word you wrote about Becki! She is such a blessing in my life also. Such a genuine Christian lady. I love her & she knows it!
    Frankye Needham

  2. thanks to you again Susan!! And my sweet friend Frankye. She really is the real deal, all day long doing for others!!

    • You’re so welcome, Becki Sue Fred. I’m loving your book, so naturally I want everyone in my Small Town World to get a chance to love it, too! I was so glad to meet Frankye. Any friend of Becki’s . . . !

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

