Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

V Day Flunkee

4 Comments

I have a horrible confession to make. I’m flunking Valentine’s Day this year.

What does a woman who’s been married a loooong time and who’s a romance writer blog about for Valentine’s Day? Probably not what you’d think. 🙂

I glanced around to see what some of my favorite blogs were talking about today. (Yes, I was hoping to rip someone off get an idea.)

One talked about making cupcakes. Red velvet cupcakes with cream cheese icing. Warning she doessn’t give a recipe (maybe it’s a mix). She did show us how pretty they are and make me hungry. 😦

Since I have a wedding next month for which I’m trying to lose a few pounds, thanks, but no thanks.

I went to another one with a whole bunch of Big Name romance authors. No joy there.

A guest writes about the great time he had, going to the Sundance Film Festival. Sadly, he didn’t even mention SEEING Robert Redford. 😦  😦

Why bother? (I asked him if he got to chat with Bob while he was there. I’ll let you know if he answers me.)

And then I went to a blog with even more Big Name romance writers. Big Name romance writer, Sabrina Jeffries, is talking about When It Sucks to be a Romance Writer.

Funny, I’ve never known a romance writer who’s all that romantic. I’ve found that most of them are too busy writing to remember what day it is.

I’m not even a very good VD mom.

  • I don’t have any cards from when my kids were small to show you, although I’m sure I’ve saved some in a box somewhere.
  • I haven’t mailed my kids cards this year. (I think I sent them cards last year with Starbucks gift cards in them.)
  • I probably won’t call them and tell them happy VD. And I doubt if they’ll call me.

Not my kids’.

 I did buy some heart shaped chocolate candies for my man, but I put them in a jar with a lock down top to slow me down from eating them. (I should put a sign on them, “Remember the wedding.” Or set a mouse trap inside.)

I’ll think of something wonderful for dinner tonight. I’m sure I will. And G-Man will smile and act as if he likes what I cook . . . but how many ways can you cook chicken breasts? And after awhile, salad is just . . . salad.

I think I’ll give him that bowl of heart shaped Cheerios for breakfast they show in the commercial. Or is it a heart shaped bowl of Cheerios?  Oh, well.

I did find a really cool card online to show you.

Happy Valentine’s Day.

What are you doing to celebrate? Warning: Any ideas you have might be ripped off borrowed.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “V Day Flunkee

  1. Glenn made reservations for us at Outback in Tulsa, gave me a valentine and 6 chocolate dipped strawberries. They are delicious, I have just eaten one today but I MUST eat them before long or the strawberries will get mushy!!LOL Happy Valentine’s Day susan, you ARE a sweetheart!!

    • I LOVE chocolate covered strawberries, Sue. We do business with a company one of my nieces works for and last year they sent CC strawberries among other things for Christmas. We raved so much about them, this year she sent the large order. Only thing she forgot was to address it to me, personally. LOL.
      I sure do love my nieces. 🙂
      Glad your V Day was a great one. As long as you’re with the one you love, how can it be anything else?

  2. love that last valentine. 🙂

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

