Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Chicken and Poodles

12 Comments

When I’m trying to lose a few pounds (or more than a few) weird things happen in my head. I develop cravings for breads and cereals and all the yummy carbs I try to cut back on. I know it’s not true hunger, but I want it just the same.

In honor of my cravings, I’m going to talk about CHICKEN AND POODLES. Okay, it’s really chicken and noodles, but I had to call it something weird when the kids were little. They LOVE them now. (Smothered Steak turned into Smothered Snake in my world.)

Here’s the recipe for homemade noodles, written in Grandmother’s own hand.

I have to warn you, making noodles from scratch isn’t easy. Grandmother didn’t have a machine to roll out or cut the yummers for her. She mixed them by hand and used a rolling pin to flatten them. In case you’re wondering, it’s a very stiff dough and builds muscles to get through preparing them.

Maybe you burn enough calories making them that you can afford to eat them. 🙂 I don’t know because I’ve never done it. I made noodles from scratch one time, and I used a mixer,

a noodle maker thingy that fits on my mixer and cuts the noodles, too. And still it was way too much work.

A package of Reames frozen noodles is much easier and tastes almost as good.

I’ve made chicken and noodles using the dried noodles off the store shelf, and it wasn’t bad. (I made them fairly often when we were first married.) Boil up the noodles, add left over chicken WITHOUT bones and a can of Cream of Chicken soup. Not bad stuff. (I used a tuna casserole recipe and made it taste good.) You can put it in the oven and top with crunchies (chip crumbs or bread crumbs) but I never have.

So here’s how I make good Chicken and Poodles for two.

1 pkg Reames noodles
cooked chicken (left over baked chicken, roasted chicken breasts or grilled chicken is great)
chicken broth
salt and pepper

Cook Reames Noodles in chicken broth. (If you add a couple of the bullion cubes, it makes them even better!) Give them plenty of time to get done. Toss in the chicken, season to taste. Tada! Yummer supper. For some reason, it seems like a long cooking time rather than rushing it makes it better.

BTW: No poodles were harmed when making this meal.

Since I posted Grandmother’s Noodles in the past, which makes Chicken and Poodles a repeat, I’m going to share Smothered Snake. (Yes, this is a rerun, too. Sorry about that. Guess I need find something different to cook, don’t I?)

1 round steak (can be tenderized, but doesn’t have to be)
vegetable oil
1 can Cream of Mushroom Soup
salt and pepper

Heat oil in a heavy, oven proof frying pan. (I use a cast iron skillet.) Season steak, brown in pan. When well browned on both sides, remove the steak from the pan and put the soup in. Stir well to loosen all the yummy goodness from the pan and mix it into the soup. Then put the browned steak back in the pan and cover with soup.

Cover and put in a 350 degree oven for one hour. Chow down.

You can thank me later. 🙂

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

12 thoughts on “Chicken and Poodles

  1. I used to help Grandmother roll out the noodles when I was little. I wonder why she needed my help. Do you think its because she was an awesome Grandmother and knew what to do to make her “stuck in the middle” granddaughter feel special?
    I asked her for the recipe when I was married, made them from scratch ONCE.
    Appreciated hers even more after that! Now, when I rarely make chicken and noodles, I definitely use Reames!
    LY

    • I thought maybe she gave you the secret to making it easy. Maybe she just liked doing it because Granddad didn’t come to the kitchen to tell her how. 🙂
      And she asked you to help because she loved you so very much. (And she was pooped.)
      LY!

  2. Remember when on a Saturday you’d walk in Grandmothers back door & draped everywhere in her kitchen were noodles ‘drying’. How many did she have to make to feed the whole family! And I complain about how much work it is to make a batch for my little family!

    Ok, my recipe calls for Reames. Too lazy!

    Lisa, I remember her asking me to help, it was usually Joanie & I together. After a little while, sent us out of her kitchen! We kind of wore her out, imagine that!
    Susan, do you have Grandmothers great big cast iron skillet?

    Love ya!

  3. I remember going into Aunt Nola’s kitchen & seeing noodles drying lots of places, too. O, those were so good! Sharon has the talent now, but, we all use the reames. Thanks for sharing your memories with us, 🙂

    • I wonder if our mothers and grandmothers had more time because most of them didn’t work or if they made their own because they took pride in what they cooked?
      Get togethers such as Christmas and church dinners was like a competition. Everyone brought so much good food, it’s a wonder we didn’t all gain weight like Winnie the Pooh when he found the honey tree. (He couldn’t get back out.)
      LOL.
      Aren’t we blessed to have such beautiful memories?

    • Thanks, Paula, but I think the noodles you & Judy make are so very good, too. My contribution to family dinners over the years has just always been the noodles. Aunt Nola’s noodles were fantastic & I think Violet had the “homemade” noodles talent, too.

  4. Some of the best times in my life were spent helping my Grandma Shoemaker make homemade noodles. The noodles were cut much thinner than the Reames noodles, and they were hung to dry over the backs of the wooden dining room chairs. Grandma was a fantastic down-home-cooking great cook & everything was made from “scratch”. Both Grandma Mitchell & Grandma Shoemaker made delicious dishes, but Grandma Shoemaker cooked the most ~ probably because Grandma Mitchell was about 20 years older than Grandma S (Mom (Lena) was the youngest child in the Mitchell family & my Dad was the oldest in his family). Grandma Mitchell’s green beans seasoned with bacon & onions and cooked with new potatoes in them (straight from her garden) were probably the favorite thing I remember her cooking. Grandma Shoemaker cooked EVERYTHING I liked – pies, cakes, fried chicken, chicken & noodles, canned homemade dill pickles, beets ~ you name it ~ she cooked it! Pioneer Woman, Ina Garten, Paula Deen ~ none of them could hold a candle to my Grandma! She was the best & she did it all out of love for her family. 🙂

  5. I can’t believe you had to rename this to get kids to like it! (Although I bet they did love the poodles:-) )

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

