Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Omega Day

8 Comments

Know what today is? I gave you a little hint in the title, although unless you’ve read my blog before, you might not pick up on what it means.

Today is Amy Darlene Spess Nation’s birthday. We come from a family of six of which I am the oldest and Amy is the youngest.

I’ve called us Alpha and Omega for a long time, probably since I was in a local sorority and had to learn the Greek alphabet. No, it was longer ago than that. Maybe it was the first time I heard a sermon on Revelations 22:13.

“I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End.”

Omega and I don’t think we’re Jesus by any means. Not even close. But ever since she was a baby, we did think she hung the moon!

Amy was born with a head full of dark curls. She was a happy baby, who only cried when she was hungry (or a not-much-older sister unknowingly poked a too hot bottle in her mouth.)

Six years younger than her next older sibling, I wouldn’t say she was spoiled, but she didn’t learn to talk until she was two. She didn’t have to. The five older kids did all her talking for her.

This is Alpha and Omega (my hands on her shoulders) with Beta, Kappa and Gamma

We adored Amy! She was so easy-going, except for a tiny stubborn streak, which she keeps hidden most of the time. 🙂

Amy had a BFF growing up that’s still her BFF today. These two could have invented the term BFF. They are life friends who’ve been friends so long, they can’t remember the first time they met. They’re still friends today, even though they live across the US from each other.

 Amy’s on the left; Jonna’s on the right

Mom never worried when Amy was out with Jonna, because she knew they’d take care of each other. Even though they were in the same class all the way through school, I don’t remember ever hearing of any jealousy between them. A lot of healthy competition, but never jealousy. That’s a great friendship!

 This is all six of us. Omega is the one wearing the light jacket.

One other thing I can say about Amy, she grew into a beautiful woman. Heart beautiful. She loves the Lord with all her heart, is married to a Godly man and has had four gorgeous daughters.

Nearly twenty-one years ago, she was in a wreck that put her in a wheelchair and took two of her daughters to heaven, but she hasn’t let it slow her down one bit.

She still goes every chance she gets, is the score keeper at middle school basket ball games, and not a bit shy about telling a ref when he needs to step up and make a call.

When other people might be depressed or feel sorry for themselves and whine about their circumstances, Amy never has. She has a smile every day of the world for everyone in the world.

She never meets a stranger. (She invites most of them to the Baptist Church, where her husband is a deacon.) Most people in C-Town know her by name.

I believe Oprah who used to have a show once in a while about heroes. I always thought Amy should have been there for that. She’s definitely one of mine!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, OMEGA. (I won’t tell how old you are.)

I still look the most like Mama. 🙂

Ps: HI HOPE! Tell Miss Dillard hello, then get back to work. 😉

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

8 thoughts on “Omega Day

  1. Happy Birthday Mamie Baby!
    LY

  2. What a wonderful tribute to a wonderful woman. She is one of the strongest women I have ever known. God left her on this earth for a reason and I just know she has been an inspiration to thousands of people who have met her or read her story !HAPPY BIRTHDAY AMY DARLENE SPESS NATION!!! God bless you as you bless others!! Love to you and Noel!! Yes Susan, you DO look the most like Mary Sue!!

  3. Love the pix of Amy!! I am so proud to be able to call her my niece (& her sisters, too). Brother Jeffrey, not forgetting him.
    Thanks for sharing, Susan!!

    • Judy,
      Somehow you commented on the picture rather than the post. I moved it here, but it may look different than when you did it.
      Anyway, we’re proud to call you aunt, too! And you’re welcome.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

