Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Sunday Spice

8 Comments

"Sunday school, Indians and white[s].&quo...

Indian Territory Sunday School

In case you’re wondering, the picture above is from the time before Okie Land was a state, which happened in 1907. And no, I’m not in it. 🙂 I like to think I would have been, though.

When I was a kid, my family almost never missed church. If it was Sunday morning, it was understood by the entire family that we’d be in Sunday School and church. (Sunday night and Wednesday night, too.)

We didn’t get up and ask if we were going. We knew. We didn’t get to stay all night with other people on Saturday night, because it was like a school night. There was someplace we were going to go the next day.

Church.

When I was very young, everyone went to churchAll the time. If someone I knew didn’t go to church regularly, they didn’t admit it. That just wasn’t acceptable in our Small Town World.

When I was in 5th or  6th grade, I met my first classmate who belonged to a church that was very different from ours. I knew it was different because she didn’t stand up when we saluted the flag or heard the National Anthem. But she went to church.

Things changed drastically after that. People moved into C-Town who didn’t go. And didn’t care. Talk about an awakening for this small town girl!

Today, fewer and fewer people go to church. Most of the people I know believe in God. They just don’t enjoy corporate worship, so they don’t go. Or they’re too busy to go. Or they can’t remember where their letter is. (My aunt told my mama that once. I’m not sure what it means.)

I look forward to Sunday worship. For me, it’s a time of refreshment and renewal. A time when I can focus solely on the One who LOVES me so much, He died for me. He paid the consequences for MY sin, even though He’d never come near sin.

I started to name this blog SWEET SUNDAY, but just now changed it to SUNDAY SPICE. Why? Because when I think of worship, I don’t get a sweet, devoted, laid-back feeling like the nuns in an old movie.

I get jazzed. I love singing praises to the King. Love being with others of like faith. And I love, love, love learning from Preacher Dave.

I don’t speak in the language of angels like Paul or dance before God like David, but I absolutely understand why they did. Our worship service is very well planned, but I’m absolutely thrilled when everything stops so we can spend time in prayer with a hurting saint. Or someone comes forward and is baptized into Christ.

Sundays spice up the rest of my week. And I’m very grateful it does!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

8 thoughts on “Sunday Spice

  1. good one, spesser–enjoyed it. and the letter? my great gramma smith (now, she was a pip, that one) said that people sometimes thought they needed a personal letter of invitation from God Himself in order to show up to church. the rest of us just naturally knew it was an open invitation!! maybe that’s what your aunt meant. who knows?

    • I think it might be a Baptist thing, Chicken. I’ve never gone to that church, but I think it has something to do with Baptist beliefs or rules or something. 🙂 Maybe I should ask Omega. She’s married to a Baptist deacon.

  2. I feel the same here. I was born on a Sunday and the next Sunday I was in church. My mom took us. I have been in church ever since. I haven’t missed many services. I have strayed greatly at times but I always had that anchor. God is always looking for us and waiting. He never turns us away. I was lost but now I’m found. I’m so glad He found me.

    • Oh, Terri. We could sing in the same choir!
      Sometimes I’m just astonished when I remember that He looks forward to being with me just like I want to be with Him.
      I’m so glad He found me, too!!!

  3. Susan, I think the “letter” meant their letter of membership! In the Church I was raiSad to say, I facsed in, we didn’t have letters of membership but a lot of denominations do! As you know, we Fisher kids were in church Sunday morning, Sunday night and Wednesday night without fail. We were on time, cleaned up and knew to keep our mouth shut or face the music when we got home. Sad to say, but, I faced the music a few times, Judy and I couldn’t keep our mouths shut and her daddy or my mama would always catch us doing something. We would have to go and sit beside them and we knew what was coming!! It didn’t hurt us and now we both appreciate being “brought up” in church. Can you imagine getting 7 or 8 kids ready to go to church, that would be another complete story!!

    • Susan, I think the “letter” meant their letter of membership! In the Church I was raised in, , we didn’t have letters of membership but a lot of denominations do! As you know, we Fisher kids were in church Sunday morning, Sunday night and Wednesday night without fail. We were on time, cleaned up and knew to keep our mouth shut or face the music when we got home. Sad to say, but, I faced the music a few times, Judy and I couldn’t keep our mouths shut and her daddy or my mama would always catch us doing something. We would have to go and sit beside them and we knew what was coming!! It didn’t hurt us and now we both appreciate being “brought up” in church. Can you imagine getting 7 or 8 kids ready to go to church, that would be another complete story!!

  4. I see that it posted two times, I caught the mistakes too late and tried to correct them. Sorry!!

    • I’m glad you did. And no, I can’t imagine getting that many kids ready. I’d have to do like my mama did–the big’uns helped out the little’uns and Mama filled in the rest.
      No wonder they didn’t need to diet!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

