Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Oh, Happy Day!

6 Comments

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, DANNY!

Today is #1 son’s birthday.

When he was born, his daddy said he looked like a drowned rat. I nearly smacked him on the spot! LOL. But he got over the wet look fairly quickly and turned into a beautiful little boy, who kept his parents laughing (and on their toes) for a long time.

I know exactly what he’s saying in this picture. “Hurry up, Mom, so we can get good seats.” We were getting ready to ride a stage coach in Jackson Hole, Wyoming. He probably figured he’d get to drive the stage.

After all, he got to drive for this guy. Why not the stage coach?Danny was always sweet and full of great ideas. Just ask his cousin, Kyle, who got in trouble several times when he followed my boy’s lead.

Such as the time I gave them orange popsicles and put them on the porch to eat them so they wouldn’t drip all over my house. They went for a walk in 53 acres of woods without letting me know they were leaving “Because you wouldn’t have let us go.”

Duh.

Or the time they decided to spray paint my garage and everything in it.

Or the time they called the operator and said bad words. “Darn!” and “Shut up!”

Like I said, Danny could make all of us grin. And keep us grinning.

 Danny gave us a gift a few years ago–his wife. Yes, she wears a crown. She deserves one! She’s a joy and has made life in the Shay Clan so much fun. (Can you tell I like her?)

This is for you from Grandmommy, kiddo. She adored you.

Little Danny Donkey

I hate to talk about it cause it’s sad enough for tears,
but little Danny donkey doesn’t like to wash his ears.
At breadfast every morning Danny’s mother sent him back
to do his washing over for his ears were very black.
They say he’s doing better now and, oh, I hope it’s true.
I’d hate to be so careless and so lazy wouldn’t you?

I love you, baby!!!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

6 thoughts on “Oh, Happy Day!

  1. Happy Birthday Danny! The pictures of you just make me smile. Especially the one with Matt. You were such a cute little boy. And you grew up to be such an intelligent, sweet, cute grown-up.
    Your mom is right, Grandmommy did adore you. She was able to spread that love around and make us all feel like the favored one, and thats becauste I really think we were. She had a lot of love in her heart.
    Have a fantastic birthday. Maybe China will let you wear her crown for a day!!!!!
    LYL
    Lisa

  2. shoot. And I was hoping for pics!!!!!!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

