Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Snit Fever

6 Comments

Running late today, but I wanted to share the progress I’ve made on my Meret Beret.

Remember late last summer (or early last fall) I showed you this–That was near the beginning of what I hoped would one day look like this–

That’s not mine. You can tell because the color is wrong and it’s darn near perfect. Mine won’t be. 🙂 This is a picture I found online to show me what it might look like someday. Well, I’m not there yet. Here’s where I am today.

 And here–

In case you’re wondering, that’s my Bible it’s lying on. (I just finished my Bible study for this morning.) And my Bible is lying on my GMC chart for the book I’m currently working on.

I’m such a neat person. Not.

The beret isn’t that complicated, so why am I so slow? Besides time restraints (I hate that excuse, but there you go.) I Christmassed and knitting a cat scarf. (Except for sewing on the head, it’s finished. Yay!) And a pair of fingerless gloves.

While I found the above pictures, I found a couple of other things I finished this year. I just have to share.

This great little scarf (I still need to block it, I guess, because I haven’t worn it.) and my chicken. I call her Shake a Tail Feather.

I learned to knit when I was in junior high. For some reason, I really wanted to learn, even though no one around me knitted at all. Maybe it was seeing Aunt Sally here on a Christmas visit one year, knit throws for her family. Or it could have been seeing people knit on TV and in movies.

Anyway, I bought a book and “taught” myself. It’s really hard to learn to knit (especially casting on) from a book. While the pictures and arrows look as if they’re going one direction, they’re really meant to be going another way altogether. But I persevered.

I discovered how useful knitting was in high school when I was in a one-act play called the Legacy. It was a period piece, set in the 1800’s. I used knitting as busy work during the play.

By the time we quit doing the play for competition, my square I was knitting was really lopsided, because when I’d pick up my knitting to work, I just started knitting. I didn’t look to see whether I had it forward or backward. 🙂

I wish now I’d kept it. 🙂

I’ve taken several classes and found I love knitting along side other people. One of my favorite things about knitting is teaching others. Some pick it up so easily, you’d think they’d learned it somewhere before.

For others, it’s not quite as easy.

Now Omega (kid #6 in the Spess family line up) was determined to learn. She’s in a wheelchair, her hands don’t work as easily as they once did and she can’t drive herself to go to the yarn store, but she was bound she would learn how. So I taught her, and she caught on so quickly I felt as if I’d been a really  slooooow learner.

She even knitted one of the Christmas presents she gave away this year. How cool is that?

This isn’t the best picture of Omega I could find, but I usually try not to capture her wheelchair, because it’s not who she is. I wanted you to be able to see it today.

I wanted to warn you, when Omega decides she’s going to do something, look out!

No telling what she’ll be doing next.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

6 thoughts on “Snit Fever

  1. I recently made the same meret! I just put my project on Ravelry: http://ravel.me/mylifeinknots/md89d. I also learned to knit out of a book, but now 12 years later I’m hosting classes of my own and creating original sweater designs. Thanks, for sharing your post, I enjoyed reading it!.

    • Oh, Jamie. You really have talent then. How did you learn to do all that?
      I have an idea for a baby headband or two and maybe a bride’s garter, but an entire sweater? And classes? Wow!
      Do you teach at a yarn shop?

      • I think I’m just good at following directions! I teach elementary school, but I just started to teach private knitting classes because so many people were asking.

  2. Susan, I have always wanted to learn to crochet but have never taken the time to learn, probably not crocheting with thread but with yarn. It’s amazing you could learn from a book. The part about you enjoying knitting with others brought to mind my granddaughter Alexis Blan. She learned to knit with her Girl Scout Troop friends and school friends. Once a week, they would meet at Panera Bread in Owasso (where she lives) and sit in the area where they have sofas and chairs and they all would knit and visit for about two hours. She, too, enjoys knitting with other people. I thought to myself, “what a wonderful activity for young girls to emgage in”!! As always, I love your blog!!
    Alexis is now a Sophomore at TCC, going to OU next semester and still enjoys knitting with her friends!! Lifelong enjoyment!!

    • It also keeps me from falling asleep while I watch TV. LOL. Glad to hear about your granddaughter. She sounds like my kind of people!
      If you want to learn to crochet, I can recommend a yarn store with classes.

  3. “I wanted to warn you, when Omega decides she’s going to do something, look out!”
    Isn’t that the truth? Our little sister is a lot like Mama. Yay Mamie Baby!
    LY

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

