Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Trailing Molly

4 Comments

Did you ever notice that when you’re late for one thing, it knocks everything out of kilter?

I got up late yesterday, so I didn’t finish that day’s Beth homework. Today I finished yesterday’s and was determined to do today’s. I did, too! But that made me late for my blog. Sorry. I’m here, though. 🙂

One little bit of Beth news–

From Beth’s blog:

Hey, you guys! On our introductory (and impromptu!) live stream last week, I told you that I thought we might focus on prayer during our next one. The beginning of a new year is a great time to get strengthened and encouraged in our prayer lives! If you’re like me, you could always use some cheering on in that vital spiritual discipline. It’s fairly safe to say that, in day-to-day practical living, we are only as strong in our walk as we are in our prayers. A healthy prayer life is essential to abiding in Christ. I also love to hear the approaches others are finding effective. So, what do you say we hit this topic tomorrow??? (God willing, thank you, Book of James)

For all who are able, hop on this link tomorrow from 10:30 – 11:00 AM Central Standard Time and let’s talk about prayer.

If that link doesn’t work, you can pop over to http://blog.lproof.org/ and click the link on her page. I think it’ll be a very interesting chat. Hope to see you there!

Did it snow at your house last night? It did ours. I didn’t get a picture, but a friend of mine on FB did.

Thanks for the picture loan, Larry Lawrence! It’s gorgeous!!!

I don’t know if I mentioned it or not, but my hip doc told me to walk 30 minutes every day. To be very honest, I don’t get that done. I try to make it at least 3 days a week with my walking buddy, Carollea.

We’re both going to our church’s Beth Moore Bible study, so that’s knocking out one night of walking. She helps with the dinners at church on Wednesday nights, so we aren’t able to make it up that night.

Yesterday, my man called and offered to bring the Queen of the Castle (aka: our dog, Molly) and walk with me. I jumped at the chance!

By the time I got off work, the beautiful afternoon temperature (60 degrees) had dropped. A lot. And the wind was blowing straight out of the north. (Bringing that snow!)

I layered my jacket over a hoodie and he did the same. We took off with me holding the leash.

We walked a while with the wind at our backs on the tarmac that covers what once-upon-a-time was a railroad track. There’s lots of chat mixed with tarmac in the path, so it’s a little rough. Anyway, we walked a ways and Miss M had to make a pit stop.

It wasn’t long before she was limping. I was, too. 🙂

I just kept getting colder and colder, and finally we headed back for the car.

Molly’s limp kept getting worse. We pulled her off the path, onto the dirt next to it, thinking it would be easier on her tender little tootsies. Wrong. She still limped.

I picked her little hiney up and carried her. She was trembling a lot. She was either really cold or faking it so she wouldn’t have to walk all the way back to the car.

Just like a kid.

After a few moments, I handed her over to Gary. (I think she’s gained some weight at Christmas, too.)

A few moments later, he passed her back to me.

I doubt we’ll be taking her back to the trail any time soon.

By the time we got home, I was pooped. (Molly’s limp as well as her shivering had disappeared. “Limp? What limp?”) I came in, crashed in my chair and turned on “Seabiscuit”. After a few moments I noticed a nagging in my tummy.

Why is it I get hungry every day at that time? 😦 Anyway, I didn’t feel like cooking. Then #2 son called and told me it was snowing. That made me hungry for Grandmother’s Chili.

But who wants to make chili at 7 pm when they’re pooped? About that time, I remembered we’d frozen part of the last batch I made.

Remember that part of the Bible that talks about storing up treasures in Heaven? It’s pretty neat when you have a few stored up for dinner, too.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “Trailing Molly

  1. I stay up late at night and get up early in the morning to take pictures for you. 🙂
    Use them all at your pleasure.

  2. You should keep taking her on walks. She will probably improve over time, live longer, and be less crazy if she gets that kind of exercise.

    • Molly? Crazy? LOL.
      I took her on a two mile walk last year and she wouldn’t speak to me for a week. I’m going to have to find a smooth place for her . . . or a pair of sneakers that’ll stay on. 😉
      LY!!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

