Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Wowed Wednesday

4 Comments

I hadn’t planned to talk about “Mercy Triumphs” again this morning, but after experiencing the first session last night, it’s big on my mind.

In case I didn’t mention it yesterday, “Mercy Triumphs” is a study of the Book of James.

Beth Moore does a wonderful job of allowing God to work through her. She shares what other people would board up in a closet without telling more than we need to know. She bares her heart and lets you see it beat. Unless I’m very wrong, she asks God to fill her from her toes to her nose in order to use her to His glory. (And His alone.)

When the video was over, it seemed everyone in the room took a collective breath. The woman sitting next to me whispered, “Wow.”

The Bible study leader stood up in the front of the room. “Wow.”

I was wowed, too.

  • Beth was able to explain to those who believe that Mary is an eternal virgin that, according to the Word, she had other children–without being in the least offensive. In fact, she told them to try to press on through it because they didn’t want to miss what God had in store for them.
  • Who James was–
  •                 The oldest of Jesus’s half-siblings.
  •                 One of the half-sibs who said, “He (Jesus) is out of his mind.” Mark 3:21.
  •                 One Jesus appeared to after His resurrection. (1 Cor 15:7)

Of course, she started my imagination to working. She made me think what it would have been like to grow up with Jesus as my older brother. Imagine, having a sibling who never did anything wrong. Who never got in trouble.

I might have picked on the poor guy. Called him Goody-Two-Shoes Sandals. Tried to talk Him into doing my chores for me.

Imagine learning your older brother was God.

Wow.

Another way Beth wowed me was the way she can take scriptures I’ve read over and over (and probably had read to me a bunch of times) and show me a phrase I’ve totally missed. Just this Christmas I read the account of when Joseph and Mary took Jesus to Jerusalem to present Him to the Lord. (Luke 2:22.) I read about Simeon seeing Jesus and knowing that God had fulfilled his promise that he wouldn’t die until he’d seen the Lord’s Christ.

I read where Simeon blessed them and even the part where he said to Mary,

 “This child is destined to cause the falling and rising of many in Israel, and to be a sign that will be spoken against, so that the thoughts of many hearts will be revealed.” Luke 2:34-35a

But somehow I missed,

“And a sword will pierce your own soul too.”

How did I miss that?

You know, I listened to “Breath of Heaven” a hundred times in December. I shared it here at least twice.

http://youtu.be/68Hl57NhR0o

For some reason I was drawn back again and again to Mary’s story–who she’d been and how she’d lived, pregnant with the Savior. And then after He was born, visited by shepherds, and then the Magi.

I think maybe I was being prepared for this Bible study. As Paul Harvey use to say, “And now the rest of the story.”  Or at least more understanding of it. 🙂

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “Wowed Wednesday

  1. Wow! I think I’ll copy off of you next time. 😊

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

