Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

The Best Gifts!!!

Leave a comment

I think I mentioned my man and I met on a blind date on December 7th. (Thanks again, Mary and Sam!) By Christmas, my mama knew I was in love. Took me a week longer to admit it to myself. But by New Years Eve, I knew!

By February 2nd, G-Man knew, too. 🙂 (That’s when he asked me to marry him.)

Like every bride in the world should be, I was head-over-tea-kettle in love. As we prepared for the wedding, one scripture kept running through my head. I asked our preacher to use it in the wedding. He said he’d be glad to.

So we got married on May 19th. I wanted all the people I loved around us that day.

Dad walked me down the aisle, but I really wanted both my parents to do it. (That was back when it was hard to flout tradition, even one that small.) My sisters, #3 and #4, were our candle lighters. Sister Debbie was my maid of honor. Baby sister Amy was the flower girl. My piano teacher played the organ, Mom’s good friend sang, “Oh, Promise Me.”

The preach said all the normal words, but he didn’t use the scripture. I was so disappointed. I didn’t know if he’d forgotten or if he’d never heard it done before and decided not to use it.

I got the ring on my finger, put my man’s ring on his and we kissed. The preach introduced us as mister and missus and we started back down the aisle, music swelling just like at the end of a great movie.

That’s when I heard it.

16And Ruth said, Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God:17Where thou diest, will I die, and there will I be buried: the LORD do so to me, and more also, if ought but death part thee and me.

Isn’t that beautiful? That’s King Jame’s Version and the way I memoried it a long time ago. Here it is in The Message:

16-17 But Ruth said, “Don’t force me to leave you; don’t make me go home. Where you go, I go; and where you live, I’ll live. Your people are my people, your God is my god; where you die, I’ll die, and that’s where I’ll be buried, so help me God—not even death itself is going to come between us!”

That’s not a woman talking to a man or a man to a woman, it’s a daughter-in-law talking to her mother-in-law.

Ruth’s pledge of faithfulness was what I wanted to be part of our nuptials. But I think God had something in mind all those years ago when He planted scripture in my heart.

With all my heart, I believe it was a blessing God had for G-Man and me, and because of it, He has blessed us with three of the most wonderful daughter-in-laws (daughters-in-law?) in captivity. 😉

Each one is absolutely so much fun, so thoughtful, and just the perfect blend of sugar and spice! It’s amazing that all my sons found women I could love so much.

Susan’s Sons’ List of Wife Requirements:

1-Sharp
2-Pretty
3-Spunky
4-The daughter Mom always wanted.

This started out to be a blog about my Christmas gifts, which were so wonderful I cried with joy all Christmas morning. But deep in my heart, I believe that the best gifts my boys have ever given me are their wives.

That’ll stay true at least until I get a grandchild!!!

Tell you about the gifts later. 🙂

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

