Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Getting Christmas Ready

Leave a comment

For me, watching the season’s movies is a big part of getting in the mood for Christmas.

I love the old ones as well if not better than the new ones. Not sure the guys in my family like them, but it’s only once a year. They survive.

It’s hard to pick my absolute favorite, but the movie that puts the biggest grin on my face is “A Christmas Story”.

It’s the cute story of a little boy who wants a BB gun for Christmas. No matter who he tells he wants one, he gets the same response. “You’ll shoot your eye out.”

That movie was introduced to my crew by Sister Debbie’s family. Their son, Kyle, and Ralphie looked amazingly alike. Kyle would grin real big and say, ” a Red Ryder BB Gun with a compass in the stock, and this thing which tells time”.

http://youtu.be/ppOXpyhM2wA

Even though the movie is funny and stars my nephew’s look alike, I enjoy it most for another reason. It’s set in the ’40’s or early ’50’s, when the world was such a nice place to live.

The Christmas parade has a housetop complete with a chimney for Santa to ride in. Kids look in store windows and stand in line for a long time to sit on the Big Guy’s lap.

And parents aren’t worried sick while their kids are away from them. Don’t you love movies like that?

Some of my other favorite Christmas movies are “A Wonderful Life” (of course, isn’t it everyone’s?) “A Season for Miracles”

Cover of "Season for Miracles"

Cover of Season for Miracles

and “One Magic Christmas.”

If you haven’t seen “A Season for Miracles,” you should. It’s a Hallmark Hall of Fame movie, which is a recommendation in itself, and the story was written by my friend Marilyn Pappano.

You can read it and/or watch it. (The movie is great but the book is even better!)

There are so many wonderful movies out there for the Season. One I never hear anyone talk about but I love is called, “Remember the Night.”

I borrowed this from IMDb–

Just before Christmas, Lee Leander is caught shoplifting. It is her third offense. She is prosecuted by John Sargent. He gets the trial postponed because it is hard to get a conviction at Christmastime. But he feels sorry for her and arranges for her bail, and ends up taking her home to his mother for Christmas. Surrounded by a loving family (in stark contrast to Lee’s own family background) they fall in love. This creates a new problem: how do they handle the upcoming trial? Written by John Oswalt <jao@jao.com>

If you get the chance (and I hope you do) give “Remember the Night” a chance. It’s a wonderful slow-down-and-enjoy-the-season movie.

So many good movies, so little time!

Of course, my favorite part of Christmas is time with my family and friends.

I hope God blesses you with tons of happy memories of happy time spent with your loved ones this Christmas.

Merry CHRISTmas!

Ps: What’s your favorite Season’s movie?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

