Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Are You Ready?

3 Comments

Are you ready for Christmas? I’m not. With the whines in my life (I don’t like whining, do you?) I’m just not there yet.

I’ve started, though.

I decided to change a few things this year. I’m tired of the same Christmas look I’ve had for the last hundred years, so I’m taking it slow and changing things up a little.

I have an old blue sled I put on the porch last year and the year before. Now I love my sled (I wish I had the one we had when we were kids, but since I don’t, this one is great.) The only thing I didn’t like about it was the blue metal instead of red.

So I got out my acrylic paint and fixed it. It’s not perfect, but I like the look I got.

  It’s on top of the bookshelf, next to where the tree will be. This stands right behind it–

I love this lantern (especially the rust!) I have it next to the sled. It makes me think of stories  I’ve read and movies I’ve seen about back in the old days when boys would sled so long, they’d need a lantern to drag their sleds home.

  These are in a big glass container–they don’t make me think of anything. I just like them.

I think these guys look as if Santa just whistled at them to come, get harnessed up to the sleigh!

 Of course, I have to put up my pictures of happy times when my boys were small.

And more pictures.  (Aren’t they adorable?)

So I’m taking my time, trying to make the house pretty and a place that’s warm and cozy. Just inside the front door, on a small table where you’ll see it first, I’ll have a small tree with clear ornaments I’ve put pictures of my family inside.

On Grandma’s vanity table nearby, I’ve put my olive wood nativity scene that Dad brought me from The Holy Land.

At least that’s the plan for now. I’m hoping to be finished before long.

I never want to let the true meaning of Christmas be overtaken by the what-cha-gonna-gets. We give gifts to one another in remembrance of the gifts the Magi gave Jesus as he lay in his manger. The lights, whether candles, tree lights or lanterns, signify the Bethlehem Star.

 And St. Nicholas? He has a special place in my heart. Maybe I’ll tell you about that tomorrow.

This one sits on my kitchen island.

I’m guessing everyone else has their decorating finished–with the possible exception of #4 and Marilyn. Just guessing, though. 🙂

 

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

3 thoughts on “Are You Ready?

  1. You would be right about me! But I’m gonna get organized…..

  2. Ok, so normally you would be right, I usually have my decorating about 85% finished by the 1st week of December, I love to enjoy the holidays by having coffee in front if the tree, etc!
    BUT I’m not even finished with my tree & my laundry room us covered in fall, waiting to be boxed up for another year. You are way ahead of me!!!

    New grandbabies sure are a lot more fun than decorating, & I love decorating. Btw: I’ll share

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

