Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

The Day I Met My Honey

8 Comments

Happy Day!

I believe in celebrating milestones. Anniversaries. All the the little bends in the road along the way. Not with a big, huge party deal like some people, but at least with a “I remember this day. Wasn’t it great?”

So today is one of those days. Besides being the day Japan bombed Pearl Harbor, this is the day I met my honey.

On a blind date.

In T-Town.

A long, long time ago. (I had to get G-Man to do the math. Oy!)

How will we celebrate? I’d love to revisit our date that night, but the movie we’d planned to go to is long gone. The place we went to dance is something else now (or empty.)

The apartment building I lived in is still there, but I’m not sure they’d let us in just to say, “Happy anniversary, honey! Glad I met you!!!”

We should ask out the other couple on the double date, who also married (there was magic in the air that night!) but, “Wedsnesday is too far ahead for me (G-Man) to plan.” Work-wise, it’s tough.

So if he makes it home in time, we’ll probably go out. If he doesn’t, hopefully, I’ll wake up long enough to kiss him good night.

Thirty-nine times.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

8 thoughts on “The Day I Met My Honey

  1. Happy Anniversary!
    Tell G-Man you both hit the lottery!!!!
    LY

  2. HEY THERE! Who could have known that things would turn out the way they did…..I couldn’t be happier. Being married to your best friend and loyal companion is a blessing beyond compare. I know you and Gary share that blessing. Many happy returns of the day. Love you both! Mary & Sam.

    • Oh, the memories are beautiful, Mary.
      Hey, Joanie died. Her funeral was today. So much sadness there. My heart breaks for her kids. One of her daughters is her spitting image.
      I’ll probably talk about her tomorrow. :{

  3. More details to a warm mushy adventure?
    I may find building on one of my T-Town food ventures for photo op. 🙂

    Congratulation

    • Not much mushy that night. But we got married five months later. And four or five years after that we had our first kid. 🙂 Slow bloomers.

      • Didn’t want details. Only vacant empty building location. 🙂 🙂 😉

        Love the way that snow falls down from the top of this page.

        • It seems like it was way out on peoria or Lewis. Maybe just before Lewis runs into Riverside? Wow. I don’t thing I ever went there again, so I’m not sure where it was. 😦 Now that’s bad, isn’t it?
          I like the snow, too. I had it turned on last year, so this year when it came available it just started falling.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

