Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

The Spirit of Christmas

4 Comments

Have you caught the Spirit of Christmas yet? If you’re like me, it’s a hard thing to do. Between decorating, shopping, wrapping, working and hoping I got all the right gifts, the true spirit kind of gets away from me.

But I can find the Christmas Spirit if I’ll take the time to do one thing. Read and meditate on Luke 2:1-20.

When I was in Sixth Grade, Miss Thelma asked me to be the narrator for the Christmas Play. Yep, I’m that old. We really could read the Bible AND PRAY when I was in school.

So, Miss Thelma said, “You’ll need to memorize Luke 2:1-20.”

I memorized the entire scripture that night. If I had to do it today, I doubt if I could. It takes me two weeks to memorize one SSMT verse these days. But that night it wasn’t hard.

Here’s how I did it. That night while Mom cooked supper, I crashed on the couch and tossed my feet up on the back. The scripture was typed out, so I just read the passage again and again. While I read it, I could see it in my mind.

I’m sure having seen the Christmas Story in plays and on TV all my life helped. 🙂 I could see Joseph walking along, leading the donkey with a very pregnant Mary on its back. For me, it’s night time.

I know, it couldn’t have been night through the entire trip–90 miles or so–because it took at least a week to complete. (Longer if Mary needed potty breaks as often as I did when I was pregnant.)

This map is from Holymusic 55’s Photobucket album.

I imagined the couple gazing down on the Little Town with the night sky behind them. Their trip probably looked more like this

holymusic55

than this

 holymusic55

But I liked my gentler version of the trip.

To be able to remember the words of those verses, I imagined the way it happened and told the story.

Luke 2:1-20

1And it came to pass in those days, that there went out a decree from Caesar Augustus that all the world should be taxed. (And this taxing was first made when Cyrenius was governor of Syria.) And all went to be taxed, every one into his own city. And Joseph also went up from Galilee, out of the city of Nazareth, into Judaea, unto the city of David, which is called Bethlehem; (because he was of the house and lineage of David:) To be taxed with Mary his espoused wife, being great with child.

And so it was, that, while they were there, the days were accomplished that she should be delivered. And she brought forth her firstborn son, and wrapped him in swaddling clothes, and laid him in a manger; because there was no room for them in the inn.

And there were in the same country shepherds abiding in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night. And, lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them, and the glory of the Lord shone round about them: and they were sore afraid.

And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people. For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, which is Christ the Lord.

And this shall be a sign unto you; Ye shall find the babe wrapped in swaddling clothes, lying in a manger. And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God, and saying, Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, good will toward men.

And it came to pass, as the angels were gone away from them into heaven, the shepherds said one to another, Let us now go even unto Bethlehem, and see this thing which is come to pass, which the Lord hath made known unto us. And they came with haste, and found Mary, and Joseph, and the babe lying in a manger.

And when they had seen it, they made known abroad the saying which was told them concerning this child. And all they that heard it wondered at those things which were told them by the shepherds.

But Mary kept all these things, and pondered them in her heart. And the shepherds returned, glorifying and praising God for all the things that they had heard and seen, as it was told unto them.

If that doesn’t get you in the Christmas Spirit, nothing will. It’s the TRUE Christmas Story. Not Red Rider BB Guns or jingle bells or Santa Claus.

God, the creator of all things, became man so He could walk among us. And save us. This is how it all began.

O holy Child of Bethlehem
Descend to us, we pray
Cast out our sin and enter in
Be born to us today
We hear the Christmas angels
The great glad tidings tell
O come to us, abide with us
Our Lord Emmanuel

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “The Spirit of Christmas

  1. Oh no! its your turn to choose on Dec 15th. Are you gonna make us memorize all that?
    LY

  2. Those verses always make me think of Linus on Charlie Brown Christmas quoting those verses on the stage. Did you do it like that? I love to read and hear these verses. 🙂

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

