Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Breakfast is Ready!

12 Comments

A wife of noble character who can find? She is worth far more than rubies. Her husband has full confidence in her and lacks nothing of value. She brings him good, not harm, all the days of her life. Proverbs 31:10-11.

Those verses describe my mom exactly!

The article below was published in C-Town’s paper, THE CLEVELAND AMERICAN, back in 1986. I have it laminated and keep it on my desk at work.

It has several of Mom’s favorite breakfast recipes. Try a few. You (and your family) will be glad you did!

Lori Lucas, the coordinator of the article, is the author of the blog, “I’ve Got a Big Story to Tell.” Take the time to go visit. She grew up in C-Town, so you know she’s good people!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

12 thoughts on “Breakfast is Ready!

  1. Man can NOT live without BUTTERMILK!! 🙂

  2. I can’t find my copy. Can you copy something that has been laminated?
    LY

  3. I’d love a copy too!

  4. I remember going to Grandmommy’s house for breakfast and eating biscuits and gravy. Makes my mouth water just thinking about it!

    • It was the best, wasn’t it? Your dad makes you biscuits and gravy, doesn’t he? I make it, too, but it’s never quite as good as Moms.

      When we all get to heaven, I just know Mama will be waiting with a big table full of biscuits and gravy. (Jesus will be right at the head of the table!) I can hardly wait.

  5. It made me a happy/sad to read that too. I ate breakfast many a morning at the big table! Those recipes brought back many memories! That was such a fun column to do. Rusty needs to do that again! Thanks for the mention…but mostly thanks for the memories! (And doesn’t MS look so pretty??) LL

    • That was a great place to eat breakfast, Lori! They’re recipes I still use as often as possible–but I sure don’t cook like that every day! LOL.
      That’s a good idea for Rusty. Would you have time to coordinate it again?
      Mama was always pretty–from the heart out–wasn’t she? And a wonderful example of what a woman/mother/daughter/DIL/MIL (in other word, a Christian woman) should be.
      Nice having you drop by my Small Town World! Come back anytime!

  6. i love new recipes, and especially when they come from sources like this. apple fritters sound wonderful!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

