Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Goalies

3 Comments

It’s getting to that time of the year when we look at the goals we set at the beginning of the year to see how we’ve done. Or, if you failed to set goals (like me) then it’s time to start thinking about goals you want to set for next year, if you want to set any.

I realize some people don’t, and they usually get along as well or better than those who do. So why set them?

For me, it’s a way to measure what I’ve accomplished over the past year. (And remember what I wanted to do.) Sometimes it’s a way to frustrate myself to pieces.

How do I frustrate myself?

  • By setting unattainable goals. Such as writing 50 books in a year. No way I could do that and have enough time to breathe, too.
  • By setting a goal that depends on anyone besides me. If I could control other people, I wouldn’t have to set goals. I could just work it.
  • By setting goals that are too specific. If I don’t leave some thing to my imagination, I’m really not gonna want to play.

The best ways I’ve found to reach my goals?

  • Keep them where I can see them. The year I posted my goals on the wall of my office and actually looked at them, I accomplished more than ever.
  • Envision what I want to accomplish (eventually) and set the goals that will get me there.
  • Stay on guard against the siren’s song. If I want to write a book, I might set a goal of taking a class in grammar to make it easier for me. But if I enjoy it so much that I keep taking more and more classes and never write, I’ve listened to the siren.
  • KISS. Keep It Simple Sweetheart. If it gets too intricate, I’m a gonner.
  • Be good to me. Celebrate when I reach a goal, but never be hard on myself it I don’t. I can catch myself more easily with honey than vinegar!

That’s what I know about goal setting in a nutshell. I’m just about ready to start setting mine for 2012.

Want to share your secrets for goal setting? Or goal keeping?

I can use all the help I can get. 🙂

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

3 thoughts on “Goalies

  1. “KISS. Keep It Simple Sweetheart. If it gets too intricate, I’m a gonner.”

    Haha I love that. It’s coming to that time of year to set my own goals again but in all honesty the thing that helps me out a lot is to set down 10 new goals each day.

    I know it sounds a bit tedious, but it engraves the ‘Big picture’ into my mind.

    Great post, I subscribed, just for the fact you kept it simple 🙂

    • Ten? NEW? Goals each day? Oy! Ten different goals every day of the year? I’m not sure I could find that many things. That’s like 3650 different goals a year.
      I’m impressed!
      And I must keep it simple. It’s what I am.

  2. Haha I will admit that I only really hit around 6 – 8 of them. If I did anymore then that I got warn out big time, but it keeps me productive 🙂

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

