Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

‘Tis The What?

8 Comments

  • Thanksgiving’s over.
  • Black Friday’s finished, too.
  • It’s very nearly December.

That means this is, gulp, THE season. I’m not sure about you, but when they start counting the days until Christmas, I get a big knot in my stomach.

It might be an ulcer. Is there any such thing as a Seasonal Ulcer? If there is, I have one. (Maybe it’s the first one in medical history, but I’m pretty sure . . . )

Anyway (I know, back on topic!) it’s now the C-h-r-i-s-t-m-a-s season. So I thought I’d change my blog to a Christmasy look. *Sigh* Blog designers aren’t really into Christmas designs.

The one I picked is called Rust Grunge. LOL! Not a great holiday name. 🙂

I like being able to change the header picture, which is why I didn’t go with the only true Christmas design I found for WordPress. I’m doing good to be able to change the picture on top, so there’s no way I could design (or even redesign) one.

When I thought about what picture I’d like to use in the header, I wanted something that would make me think of a true Christmas. The first Christmas.

The picture I’d really like to put up there, I can only see in my mind’s eye. I want a picture of Mary holding Baby Jesus, and those are plentiful, but I want a picture of the way she really looked. Naturally, I went to the web.

I found this one.

 And this one.

This one’s not too bad.

I even found this. (It’s supposed to look like Baby Jesus. Go figure.)

But I didn’t find the one I wanted. One where the wonder Mary must have felt showed in her face. Imagine, knowing that God had put the Saviour of the World inside you for your body to nourish.

Can you even begin to imagine how she felt, knowing the One who would be our redeemer was at her breast? Each time she fed him, each time she changed his diaper (did they have diapers?) she knew she was touching the Lord of Lords and King of Kings.

I think she must have lived in a state of awe.

Several years ago, Sister Debbie sang with two other women a song that was Mary talking about Baby Jesus. I not sure about the song or the tune. The third member of the trio was a girl about the age of Mary when Jesus was born.

Although this girl was much prettier than Mary probably was, her coloring was close to what Mary’s would have been. (Beautiful skin tone, dark hair and eyes.) The words of that song sounded like what I would have been thinking if I were Mary.

I think the song might have been Breath of Heaven.

youtu.be/rW2OBT-5qfc

Of course, I cried.

When I think of celebrating Christmas in the light of that song, my Seasonal Ulcer lets up just a little.

BTW: I haven’t started Christmas shopping yet–the main reason for my SU. Maybe I’ll make it easy on myself and skip this year. 🙂

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

8 thoughts on “‘Tis The What?

  1. Hi, thanks for commenting my blog! The christmas look is great!

  2. I sang Breath of Heaven at our church last year and I’m thinking about singing it this year too. When I first saw your new header I started looking at the left and right sides of my computer screen wondering if someone had put greasy fingers all over it. Is it my screen or what? 🙂 Is that snow?

  3. I haven’t started shopping either. Or decorating. Or even thinking about Christmas. Maybe I’ll do that next June . . .

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

