Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Green Rice

6 Comments

Soup condensed, and canned, of the Campbell's ...

Image via Wikipedia

When I was a freshman in high school, I had to have a project for Home Ec. I had no idea what to do. Most of the girls sewed something, but I wasn’t a seamstress. (Bor-ring!)

Mom had a great idea! Why not ask the women in my life for their favorite recipes? Super! Since I didn’t have a scrap of an idea, I did it and got a good grade from it, too.  Our entire family has benefited from that little box of recipes over the years.

Klorene Lawrence gave me the recipe she called Green Rice. Everyone loves this dish. (Think I’ll whip it up for Thanksgiving this year.)

Most people have a recipe for broccoli-rice casserole, but I like this one more than any other one I’ve found.

Klorene Lawrence’s GREEN RICE

1 1/2 C Minute Rice, cooked as directed.
1 can Cream of Mushroom soup
1/2 C. chopped onion
1/2 C chopped celery
1 stick oleo
1 jar Cheese Whiz
1 box frozen chopped broccoli–cooked as directed

Saute onion and celery in 1 stick of oleo until tender. Mix all ingredients together and top with Cheese Whiz. Bake at 350 for 25 minutes. Serve hot.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

6 thoughts on “Green Rice

  1. I never knew where that recipe came from, it is even more precious knowing it was Klorene’s. One of my fav’s too, I just like to stir most of the cheez whiz in and top with the rest!.

    Thanks for sharing, oh, I never heard this story either, who else did you get recipes from?

    love ya

    • Mary Lou, for sure, and I don’t remember the rest. I’ll have to check and share some more.
      I felt like such a dork, walking around, asking neighbors for recipes. Mom loved it, though, and got a bunch for me. She got to use them, too, until I got married. She was one clever cookie!
      LY

  2. Ditto what deb said
    LY

  3. Funny how we always thing everyone knows what’s going on. Well, now you know the rest of the story.

  4. Thank you for your suggestion of green rice when I said….”What is another side dish I could make for Thanksgiving?” I would’ve made your green rice, but your dad gave me quite a few turnips from his garden….and so in addition to the mashed potatoes and dressing we had, I also made mashed turnips with butter, salt and pepper; my brother from Tulsa had two helpings of them and we didn’t have a lot left. Soooooo the green rice will have to wait for a couple of weeks, but I am anxious to try it!!!

    • I’m so glad you enjoy turnips. This way I don’t have to learn to like them. 🙂 Green Rice is pretty good. We had so much food on Thanksgiving, I had enough left to bring home.
      BTW: I warmed my Cheese Whiz in the microwave and poured some in to stir into the rice/broccoli/soup mixture before I topped it with what was remaining.
      It’s easier to spread on top if you warm it, too.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

