Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Who Was Your First?

2 Comments

After a long time (maybe not long enough, huh?) Terminally Curious has reared her head. She wants to know, Who was your first crush?

Mine came when I was about eight or ten years old. He was on TV. He was so cute and so very, very nice in just about everything he played. Who could help but like him?

Actor Michael Landon at 42nd Emmy Awards - Gov...

Image via Wikipedia

My sister and friend and I were all in “like” with him and were lucky enough to score a picture of him, even though we didn’t send an SASE.  Tragically it wasn’t long before one of the babies chewed a hole in it (we were awful about putting things away) so it hit the trash.

But that didn’t stop me from caring for the guy. Even today, I’m thrilled when an old TV show or movie with Michael Landon in it airs.

When I grew up, I learned he wasn’t quite the guy I’d envisioned. But from what I’ve read, the children who worked with him still adore him. And that says a lot for a man.

Most girls (or guys) don’t fall the first time for a kid her own age–they fall for someone older and usually a little bit famous.

Not having daughters, it’s been fun to watch my sisters’ daughters as they  matured. One of my nieces liked the older guys she knew from church, calling them her “boyfriends” even when she was tiny. 🙂

Why do young girls get crushes, especially on people they can only watch on TV and talk about? I think it’s God’s way of letting them learn about the traits they’ll want in their own guys when they really start dating.

Will the girl learn to care more about tall-dark-and-handsome or will she want a guy who’s a Christian? One who’s nice and caring, one who wants people to feel good rather than hurting them for his own enjoyment?

Now it’s your turn to share. Tell us about your first crush. Was it the Rifleman’s son? Leonardo? Elvis? The tallest player on the high school basket ball team?

Was he anything like the guy you ended up marrying when you were grown?  Terminally Curious would love to know!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “Who Was Your First?

  1. Michael Landon was one of my childhood crushes, also. John Wayne was and is a favorite of mine. Unfortunately, I didn’t marry anyone like them.
    OKGramma, AKA Lori Hamilton

  2. LOL!
    Hey, I’m a big John Wayne fan, too, Lori.
    And about marriage–there’s always time.
    (As long as you don’t get too fixated with Jello.)
    Hope you had a happy Thanksgiving.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

