Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

11♥11♥11 (and a recipe)

2 Comments

Today is Veterans’ Day! *Salute*

Did you remember that Veterans’ Day is set on November 11th because it is also Armistice Day? That’s the day they signed the peace treaty after World War I.

Granddad Reeves was in World War I. (He only got as far as Austin, Texas, but he went!) Grandma Reeves brothers (twins) were in that war, too. There was a great picture of one of the uncles in uniform. One of those huge, old, oval pictures. Cousin Christy has that picture, I imagine. 🙂

Anyway, Grandma’s brothers were twins. I keep forgetting the one brother’s name, but the other was Louie. Louie came home from the war. The other brother (I’m sorry, Uncle!!) didn’t. He’s buried in Flanders Field in France.

And today is Faith Noelle Nation’s birthday! (Happy birthday, kiddo!) She’s the cutest, most talented, and smartest middle school cheerleader C-Town has. And I am just saying that because she’s my niece.

Maybe.

How about a GREAT recipe?  This one is from my sweet MIL. (That’s mother-in-law for the uninitiated.) Emily was one of the nicest MILs in the history of the world. And she was a heck of a cook!

Here’s a cheese roll she made for special occasions. Yummers!

Emily’s Spicy Cheese Roll 

 2 pounds Velveda Cheese–room temperature
8 ounces cream cheese–room temperature
1 jalepino pepper, finely chopped
2 tsp crushed red pepper
2 tsp garlic powder

Blend ingredients and roll into a log. Roll log in chili powder to cover. Serve with crackers.

I’m telling you, this is good stuff! I haven’t made it recently and can’t remember if you have to chill it before you serve it or not. I think it’ll be good chilled or room temperature.

Think I’ll make it for Thanksgiving and find out. 🙂

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “11♥11♥11 (and a recipe)

  1. Happy Veteran’s Day!
    Happy Armistice Day!
    Happy Polish Independence Day!
    Happy Birthday, Faith!
    🙂

  2. Terri,
    Is it Polish Independence Day? Who knew? (Except, maybe, an entire country of Poles.) Thank you for teaching me!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

