Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

If Oklahomans are Okies, Earthquakes Must Be . . .

2 Comments

An aerial view of the San Andreas fault in the...

Image via Wikipedia

 . . . Quakies?

I asked yesterday if you noticed the earthquakes we had. I did. The first one woke me, the second one scared me. A lot!

I talked to several people about their experiences. (I wasn’t the only one who got nervous.) Everyone who felt it had a story. Sister Debbie teaches a Sunday School class of grade schoolers. She wisely gave each one a turn so they could tell what happened at their house.

Dad was visiting his father-in-law when the earth moved, and he said they felt the quake. Even when he thought it was over, his wife told him it was still going on.

Even #4, who lives in another state, experienced the quakie.

I heard from several people that if you were riding in a car, you didn’t feel a thing. (Hi, Lori!)  Shocks will do that to you. 😉

No one I talked to had any damage . . . except me. I would be the “lucky” one. If anyone is going to have problems from a earthquake, I’m your boy.

When I went to bed, there were several items on my counter top. Three small crocks full of cooking utensils, a salt shaker, pepper grinder, a flock of metal chickens and a packet of peppers from Papa John’s.

This morning I came down stairs to find–

That’s right. The packet of red peppers had vibrated right off the counter and landed on the floor.

And that’s not all. I also found–

Can you see it? Here, look closer.

There, now you can see it, can’t you? That jar is open! See it? The one with the M&Ms in it. When we went to bed, the lid was closed tight. But after that awful earthquake, it was open.

G-Man promises he didn’t do it. If he’d been swiping candy, it would have been a butterfinger from the CLOSED jar next to it. I don’t think I was walking eating in my sleep, but you never know. I was a little disturbed after the big quake.

So now you have it. Out of the fifty or so earthquakes in Oklahoma in the last year, I’ve felt three of them. 

Dad (a geologist) informed us at lunch that the quake originated on the Nemaha Fault. (Three miles deep.) 

What’s a fault? From the US Geological Survey–

A fault is a break in the rocks that make up the Earth’s crust, along which rocks on either side have moved past each other.

You probably knew that, but they went on.

Not every crack in the ground is a fault. What defines a fault is the movement of the rock on either side. When that movement is sudden, the released energy causes an earthquake. Some faults are tiny, but others are part of great fault systems along which rocks have slid past each other for hundreds of miles.

Last night’s quake is the largest in Oklahoma history, besting a magnitude 5.5 quake on April 9, 1952. That quake originated on the Nemaha fault 

I looked for a map of the fault lines in Oklahoma to show you, and finally found one. If you’re interested, you can check it out here.

So how about it? Anybody got a Quakie story to share?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “If Oklahomans are Okies, Earthquakes Must Be . . .

  1. I only felt the third quake. I was in one bedroom and my son’s bedroom door started rattling and shaking really hard like someone was trying to open it. I went there and opened the door to see what was going on. My husband came into the kitchen and said, “We’re having an earthquake!” The big quake Saturday night we were just getting into our pickup coming back from the OSU game and so we missed the sensation but the game was on the radio and the CNN guy said we just had an earthquake. Everyone was texting back and forth! My little granddaughter was frightened by the quake. Her mama said she cried. The next quake Lola said, “Daddy, make it stop!”
    And by the way, I have a few faults and maybe even a crack or two! 🙂

    • I love you, Terri! You have the best sense of humor. (And great taste in football teams!)
      I found a GAP in my yard! Ended up looking as if one of the neighborhood kids on a dirtbike might have gotten stuck. 😦
      Oh, well. I’m keeping an eye out.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

