Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Sunday Morning–Earthquake!

9 Comments

Wednesday, when I set up this post to run this morning, I had no idea that Oklahoma would have two (2!) earthquakes in the previous twenty-four hours. For an Okie, that’s a bunch!

I blamed the first quake on the dog, who normally sleeps under our bed. I’d forgotten that she’d been too lazy to get up the stairs when I’d gone to bed the night before. But the second one happened as G-Man and I were getting ready for bed.

It sounded like thunder and our house rocked for a long, LONG time. (Maybe twenty seconds.) When it started, I scurried to a doorway. I think I read somewhere doorways are the safest place to stand during a quake. But then I realized that, since we were upstairs, the doorway’s floor would probably drop out from under me, leaving a gap where I’d been, if it was really a baddie.

*Sigh* So much for fast thinking. 🙂

I’ve never lived in California or anyplace that regularly has earthquakes, but I saw the movie EARTHQUAKE! when it came out. There were big gaps in the ground in that movie. So I have to wonder if this might be a small Weird God Thing. Or maybe God just wanted to wow me.

When I saw how it came together, I really did say, “WOW!” and, “Thank you, Jesus.”

If you were in the quake zone, what did you do/think/feel when it happened?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

9 thoughts on “Sunday Morning–Earthquake!

  1. We lived in San Diego four years and had only a few minor earthquakes — smaller than Saturday morning’s. All at night, too. Just once I’d like to be wide awake and alert when they happen.

    All I could think was my office isn’t THAT sturdy. Please don’t shake it down! But it survived. 🙂

    • All at night? How weird is that? I doubt if there’s a geologic reason for it, but who knows?
      Dad told me the name of the fault that caused these earthquakes and even described where it runs. Wish I’d written it down.

  2. Since I just sat there during the first quake and didn’t know how long it lasted and so on, with this quake I looked at the clock and counted seconds. It lasted 2 1/2 Minutes. My floor was rolling, the plants dancing and the floor lamp waving at them. pretty awesome. After the main quake my chair felt like it was jiggling for a while.

    • Hi Juanita! Nice to see you here in my Small Town World!I’m so glad you timed the quake, Juanita. It seemed to me as if the thing went on for half an hour, but since I tend to exaggerate things (blame it on being a writer) I knew it couldn’t be quite that long.
      Quakers just aren’t much fun. 😦

  3. Living in California where earth quakes happen quite often..yet you never really get “use to it ” as they say. I was shocked to hear that Oklahoma had one. I always feared the tornados more and yet we have had them even in San Francisco large enough to blow the roofs off of buildings and down trees. Just a reminder that things are changing all over. It does remind us that God is in control everywhere.

    • Rita,
      Nice to meet you!
      At least with tornados we usually have some warning (minutes) and there’s a place to hide if you’re smart enough to build a shelter. (I’m not smart enough. I hide under the stairs.)
      I don’t think I’d want to live there, but I’d love to see San Francisco someday. (I’ve never been to California. Sad, isn’t it?)
      You are absolutely right–it was a great reminder that God is in control. He knows what’s coming and He wants the best for us.
      And what could be better than that?
      I hope you’ll come back and visit my Small Town World again!

    • Hi Rita, If you ever come back to Oklahoma to visit, there are a lot of us old towners that would love to see you again. Susan, this post is from Rita Shackleford that lived right across the street from the school – just across from the Ocean Wave. Beautiful girl then – beautiful lady now!

      Best wishes, Sharon (Shoemaker) Frazier

  4. Pingback: Wowed Wednesday–Beth Moore « Small Town World . . .

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

