Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Snitting For a Friend

10 Comments

 
Illustration from "Vivilore: The Pathway ...

Image via Wikipedia

We have a little problem at work. Some of us are hot much of the time.   The rest, well, they aren’t. (We’re not discussing age here. Or weight. So just don’t do there. All right?)

So one day, Mendy says, “Can you knit fingerless gloves?”

Can I? 🙂 (Is there an emoticon that looks like an eyebrow wiggle?)

Ask an ice cream addict if they can eat a gallon of the cold stuff.

Ask a carnavore if he wants a T-Bone.

Ask a fish if he wants to go for a swim.

What do you do if you were asked to do something you enjoy to pieces?

Oh, yeah, baby! I’m there!!!

I didn’t have a pattern, but I’d just seen a pair made on TV (Knitty Gritty) that morning. I cast on twenty-five stitches, long tail.

Here’s what it looks like.

Then I started my favorite kind of knitting. If you’re a knitter, you know what I’m talking about. The kind where you knit going one way and pearl going the other. Never have to count. Rarely have to rip.

Mindless knitting. Zombie knitting. TV knitting. No remembering to wrap or count or knit two together. Just working away. Whatever you want to call it, I love doing it.

So I’m knitting away with this delicious yarn, watching TV and I finish one. Oops. Well, that was fast. 

Then, Saturday afternoon we watched two (2!) football games (I’m not the worlds biggest football fan unless I have nephews playing) so I knit, knit, knit.

And guess what? (You ready for this?)

I finished! In just two days, I knitted two fingerless gloves. 🙂

What do you mean it’s only two little squares? Are you saying anybody could knit them in two days?

Actually, it’s two RECTANGLES. Not squares. But it’s true, anybody could have knit them who wanted to. But there’s something else I do when I knit for someone.

I pray for them as I work.

If I put a tag on things I knit for other people (I don’t) it would say, “A PRAYER FOR YOU IN EVERY STITCH.” But I don’t sew in tags. I can barely make the recs into tubes to slip over her hands. I have no idea how I would attach tags.

  If I had it to do over, I’d buy an elastic yarn to make them. (Maybe.) I might even sew on a little bling when I got finished.

And I’ll definitely take a class to learn how to put things together. (Close the seam.) 

But my friend was thrilled with them, so I’m thrilled.

In case you’re wondering, I did teach her how to knit, but with two little boys, she doesn’t have time.

(I’m not sure she watches football at all.)

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

10 thoughts on “Snitting For a Friend

  1. If you follow my example, all you’ll have to do to knit is have a blank mind. Nothing to it! 😉

  2. if you knit rectangles how did you end up with thumb holes?

    • When you seam it, you skip the part where the thumb is. Easy peasy. 🙂

      • duh. i have a lot to learn. 😉 knitting in the round is my next to tackle.

        • Knitting in the round is easy, Jess, if you’re talking about knitting with one long needle with a cable attaching it. You’ll love it! (knitting on double pointed needles isn’t quite as easy, but still fun.) The hardest part is getting the beginning and end attached so you can’t tell one from the other. And there’s an easy secret.
          Are you taking lessons or is someone teaching you?

          • we would be learning on dpn’s. my bf and i have taken 101 & 102 from a local yarn shop downtown. if possible i’d like to learn on my own & not have to pay for a class, but may end up doing so. share that secret!

            • I had an answer all written out, but it’s HARD to explain. I’ll try to do a blog post with pictures and everything ASAP.
              Or you could come visit C-Town and I’ll show you. We’d have a blast knitting together. 😛
              What all have you made so far?

              • a blog post would be great. 🙂 we would have fun, indeed! jason keeps saying he wants to come see his grandaddy. so far all i’ve worked on/made is some strips, class swatches, and scarf for addox. i’m doing the wrist warmers, soon!

                • Well, come on down! I know Grandaddy would love to see him and you! (So would the rest of us.)
                  If you can knit strips, you can turn them into bags and hats and all kinds of cool stuff. Can you tell I enjoy knitting??? I’m thrilled you do, too!
                  Two of my DILs do a little knitting. I think they’ll knit more when they find time.

  3. Pingback: Knit Fever | Small Town World . . .

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

