Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Wowed Wednesday

6 Comments

Yesterday was Tombstone Tuesday, so today must be Wowed Wednesday. (To be honest, what wows me is people. Must be that curiosity gene.)

Okay, I know I just talked about walking on Friday,

but go with me on this. 🙂

My walking buddy and I charged past some great yardscapes yesterday.

A tree challenged witch.

A spider infested house.

And even a brand new neighborhood graveyard, which just recently sprung up. Shades of The ‘Burbs. *Shiver*

But the house that stopped us in our tracks is a very familiar one to me. It’s the house where I took piano lessons from the time I was in second grade. It’s the place I walked to once a month for Piano Club.

The home’s current owner and one of her beautiful daughters were there, putting on the finishing touches when we power walked up 😉 and screeched to a halt.

We said hello and told them how beautiful their decorations are. Then I asked for permission to take pictures. And since we’re all from the same Small Town World (I used to smile when the sisters came in the dress shop) I took the chance to chat a bit.

We had such a great talk! I loved the few moments we got to hang together and wished we had more.

Beautiful yardscape, ladies. Love it! And more, I had so much fun catching up. Trouble is, now I want to know more.

It’s really not my fault. It has to be that curiosity gene.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

6 thoughts on “Wowed Wednesday

  1. I’ve learned a lot from your curiosity gene….who lived where and what the schools and neighborhoods used to look like….plus getting to meet all those we stop and talk to that you know from way back. You always paint such colorful portraits of life in Cleveland….and you truly find the extraordinary in the ordinary – like the cat on the tree….loved it! Your walking buddy.

    • Couldn’t do it without you, CL. You keep me putting one foot in front of the other when I want to quit. And you give me a willing ear when my mouth runs away.
      I appreciate you!!!
      Thanks for the party pics, too. You’re great.

  2. Maybe you should write a book about Cleveland, Susan. As Carollea said, you paint colorful portraits and you always seem to find photos to go with them. The research wouldn’t even be work, not for you!

    • Marilyn,
      Most of my books are set in C-Town. I just try to change it up enough so it’s not recognizable. As I mentioned, we all live in a Small Town World. If my book is set in a hospital, that hospital is C-Town, just with halls and rooms instead of streets and houses. And all my characters are C-Town neighbors.
      I just can’t seem to write what I don’t know.
      Glad you came by!

      • Unless you mean a NON-fiction book. Then . . . naw. Don’t think I could do that.

        • Yeah, actually I meant a history of the town — not a dry history-type book, but one filled with real people and their stories. You COULD do it. You do it regularly right here. You’re a great photographer, you know everybody, and you could include all the great stories you put on the blog.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

