Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

FRIDAY!!!

6 Comments

Ever notice there aren’t any songs about Friday? There’s “Monday, Monday,” “Yesterday,” and “Today,” but Friday really should have a song. Hm. Maybe there’s one I can’t remember.

Isn’t Friday everybody’s favorite day of the work week? (People who go to work, that is.) It’s my favorite day, for sure. Why? Because, more people dress the way I dress most of the time on Fridays. In jeans.

So my walking buddy and I’ve started trekking around town again since the big cool off. (Thank you, Jesus, for lower temps!) We’ve wound our way through the cemetery as well as the streets on both sides of Broadway. Yesterday, we went past one of our favorite houses.

I think it’s one of the oldest houses in C-Town. It has a well, a couple of out buildings and a beautiful yard and garden. (There’s even a greenhouse.) And this was out front, just waiting to stop us. 🙂

Of course, it worked. We stopped and wished we had the talent of whoever set up this gorgeous fall display.

And we’re thankful they don’t call the cops on us. (We don’t get in the yard–very far, anyway.)

Thank you, person who lives in my favorite house! You make our walks wonderful.

To celebrate this gorgeous time of year, I’m going to share my mom’s applesauce cake recipe. (Hey, I love apples and don’t — er — enjoy pumpkins so much.)

Mama’s Applesauce Cake

1 C sugar
1/2 C shortening
1 well beaten egg
1/8 t salt
3/4 C raisins
2 C flour
1 1/2 C applesauce
2 t soda
1 t cinnamon
1/4 C hot water
2 T cocoa
3/4 C nuts
Cream sugar and shortening. Add eggs, beat well. Mix soda and applesauce, then mix with the rest. Add hot water. Sift flour, cocoa, salt and cinnamonn. Mix all together. Add rasins and nuts.
Bake in a moderate oven.

That’s all that’s on the recipe card–in Mama’s hand writing. (I love old recipes from Mama.) Bake the cake in an oblong pan for about an hour at 350 degrees. If you bake it in layer pans, shorten the time by five or ten minutes.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

6 thoughts on “FRIDAY!!!

  1. Fridays have not meant much to me since I have worked in retail. Whats a weekend, anyway?
    I remember Mom’s applesauce cake. YUM. And I LOVE that you showed the recipe in her handwriting. It wasnt the prettiest, but it was hers. Funny story, I got in trouble one time in junior high, because Mom’s signature looked a little different on my report card from the nine weeks before. The teacher accused me of forging it, because I had gotten a “B” in math!!!! I told Mama what the teacher had said, and she laughed and said, “did you tell her that you were happy to get a B in math?” And I was. A B was a good grade for me!!!!!
    LY

  2. Hmmmm, applesauce cake for dessert Sunday! You comin?

  3. This sounds good! I’ve been meaning to look up an applesauce cake recipe. My mom used to make it too. I didn’t realize it had raisins in it. Do you notice them like you would in a cookie? I do like raisins!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

