Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Salt Can’t Save Her

4 Comments

Want to see something cool?

Really, really cool? (Well, I think it’s cool, anyway.)

Look–

This is my mom, dad and cousin, Lindy. It’s the summer before Mom and Dad married (September 30, on Dad’s birthday.) See the muscles on my dad? Not bad, huh? 

And my mom was gorgeous! (That’s a swim cap. Mom wasn’t bald. LOL) Mama loved babies–even the babies that weren’t her own. My cousins adored her, too!   

Here’s another one–

This picture is a couple of years later. That’s Mom and Dad with their clothes on 🙂 and me. Aren’t they beautiful? I’m the cranky kiddo in this picture. (Yep, I’m Alpha.)

When I was small, we were around Dad’s family all the time. Dad worked with them and we stayed with them a lot and even lived with them some. (Our house was out of town and didn’t have running water, they only had one car, so we didn’t stay there a whole lot. Instead, we went in to Grandmother’s house.)

Dad loves to tell the story about the time Mom’s family came to visit. I was very shy and wouldn’t do anything around those “strangers” except hide behind my mama.

It really irritated my mom’s sister who was just older than her that I wouldn’t come out and play. She finally gave up in exasperation. “Susan’s so spoiled, salt can’t save her!”

I don’t know how Mom responded that day, but I don’t think she ever got over that remark. 🙂 Knowing my mom, she told her sister, “Salt can’t save her, but Jesus will!”

Of course, I don’t really remember. 😉

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “Salt Can’t Save Her

  1. I think Gary looks just like your dad when he was younger. And the pic of your dad on the horse on the birthday cake looks just like shane!

    • I know, Jill! A lot of people say that–about Dad and Gary, anyway. I haven’t heard that about Shane before, but you’re right. They look a lot alike.
      Think they’re related? *wink*
      Thanks for visiting my Small Town World! Hope you’ll pop in again.

  2. We have gorgeous parents, don’t we? They were a match made in Heaven.
    LY

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

