Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

♪♫ The Day . . . the Trailer . . . Died ♪♫

2 Comments

♪♫ I started singing, ♪♫

♪♫ Bye, bye Miss American . . .  ♪♫

Okay, the song doesn’t quite fit. But we had a time. Not really fun because, after all, it was a lot of work. But not really bad because I spent time with my man, two of my sons and my DIL2b.

We headed over fairly early (for a Saturday morning.) We weren’t particularly thrilled about spending our day at hard labor, but we were ecstatic about getting rid of the trailer.

Baby Boy lives in College Town, so he got there right after we did.

Middle Son (in orange) had to work Saturday morning, but he came over as soon as he could get there.

We all worked hard. What do you mean you don’t see me working? Someone had to save the day for posterity. (With the camera aka phone.)

Our kids went to college right after high school, and they took many of the things they’d had through hs.

Remember this guy? One of my boys was a real Garfield fan. (I’m not sure which one, but his initials might be MS.)

They were all big Simpson fans. So big, they’d play Simpson trivia games anytime they had a few spare moments. We found Bart abandoned in the trailer’s shed. 😦

And then there’s this guy.

I might have sent this to them once as a joke. I really don’t remember. I’m just glad they didn’t use it to start a fire. 🙂

I saved the best for last–a book called God’s Little Instruction Book for Graduates. It was given to BB when he graduated in 2003 by friends John and Becki Hawkins.

I jumped for joy when I found this book in the trailer, not boxed up in the shed. I don’t know how often the boys read it, but it has been read.

Here’s the first page:

When you were born, you cried and the world rejoiced. Live your life in such a manner that when you die the world cries and you rejoice.

(How often do we mamas pray for that for our kids? AND ourselves!)

“The memory of the righteous will be a blessing.” Proverbs 10:7.

A man who wants to lead the orchestra must turn his back on the crowd.

“Come out from among them, and be ye separate, saith the Lord, and touch not the unclean thiings; and I will receive you.”  2 Corinthians 6:17

This one stopped me and made me think:

A man never discloses his own character so clearly as when he describes another’s.

“A good man out of the good treasure of the heart bringeth forth good things; and an evil man out of the evil treasure bringeth forth evil things.” Matthew 12:35

The trailer is no longer ours, but I’m forever grateful for it. It was a safe place for my boys to stay together until they finished college and headed into life. I pray it kept them close (although I once broke a telephone when an argument was going between the boys through me) for a lifetime.

No one can love you more than family.

Did you (or your kids) spend your college time in dorms or someplace else?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “♪♫ The Day . . . the Trailer . . . Died ♪♫

  1. Dorms were not for me. I spent my time at OSU at 414 W. Elm St. in the basement. You walked down and if you were much over 6′ tall you bent your head over. The ceiling was just above you but it was the kitchen drain pipes and water lines that you automatically ducked your head under while crossing the room. The bathroom was up the steps out into the cold, harsh winter and in another door. It was a toilet with shower and no heat that kept trips short. Lots of memories of that place. In early Spring, the sump pump was going regularly keeping the place relatively dry. Oh yes, the rent was $15 per month in the early 1960’s. That was the greatest benefit of all.

    • Wow. $15 a month? What a deal, even for the early ’60’s!
      My dad was there in the late ’40’s, and he and another guy rented a room from a woman close to the campus. They shared a double bed.
      ARGH!
      I can’t sleep in a double bed with G-Man without whacking him several times with my elbows. 🙂
      You all were real men back in the day!
      Thanks for coming by.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

