Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

My Favorite(s)!

3 Comments

Cropped screenshot of Gregory Peck from the tr...

Image via Wikipedia

What’s your favorite thing to do on a rainy day? (Once you get past the wonder-awe of watching rain fall.)

Mine is to stay home, watch old movies and knit. Oh, and eat popcorn! Or apples. (If I lived in Seattle, I’d weigh half a ton.)

I really enjoy old movies. So much that, when they were little, one of my kids asked me once if the world was black and white when I was young. (I still wonder if he was being a smart alack. LOL!)

Some of my favorite oldies? “Valley of Decision” with Greer Garson and Gregory Peck. (Yum!)

A servant in the mill owner’s house falls in love with the son of the house. But her father bitterly hates the mill owner (and anyone connected to him) because he was crippled in the mill.

It’s a fantastic 1945 movie with a not-so-wonderful title. If you get the chance, watch it! Naturally, it has an HEA.

Another favorite of mine is “Now, Voyager.” This 1942 movie stars Bette Davis, Paul Henreid and Claud Rains. Bette is a spinster whose mother has kept her under her thumb. The movie is about her breaking free and her growth as a person. And for some reason, I love it!

If you have a few moments, watch the videos. The first one introduces Charlotte. (Bette)

http://youtu.be/Q6KD7DATyj0

This next one shows Charlotte after she’s been away from her overbearing mother and grown into her own person.

http://youtu.be/5KWwn2U5H1k

Another movie I watch over and over, especially on rainy days, is Mrs. Miniver.

Greer Garson (again) and Walter Pidgeon star in this 1942 movie. It’s a wonderful story about the life of an English family in the first months of World War II–1939–and the strength of the mother of the clan.

You can probably find snippets of all these movies at Youtube, but they’re best when you watch them in their entirety with a big bowl of popcorn in your lap.

So share with us. What’s your favorite thing to do on a rainy day?

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

3 thoughts on “My Favorite(s)!

  1. Susan, I love to watch An Affair to Remember. I love the way they talk and dress.
    But my favorite rainy day activity is to hurry and get my house clean, open the curtains wide, light a candle, and BAKE.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

