Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

What’s Yours?

2 Comments

What do you like to read?

You do read, don’t you? Besides blogs, I mean?

I understand the reason people say blogs got so popular. Supposedly, it’s because they’re short, quick reads. I don’t believe it. At least, that’s not true for me.

For me, it’s because I get a glimpse into someone else’s life. Whether it’s a woman on a ranch who home schools her four kids, a teacher with grown kids, a full time writer, a newbie author or an American who lives in a foreign country, I love peeking into other people’s lives.

Back to what we read. (Sorry about that tangent.) I read romance.

I used to read Louis L’amour. All Louie, all the time! I loved Louie.

Learning about the old west and how people (usually men) survived in that lonely country was so interesting. I learned a lot from him!

After that, I went to historical novels. Did you read, Ride the Wind ? I bought and read the book, but this is from Amazon.

In 1836, when she was nine years old, Cynthia Ann Parker was kidnapped by Comanche Indians. This is the story of how she grew up with them, mastered their ways, married one of their leaders, and became, in every way, a Comanche woman.
It is also the story of a proud and innocent people whose lives pulsed with the very heartbeat of the land. It is the story of a way of life that is gone forever….

The best part of reading about Cynthia Parker was “living” with the indians. (I have to tell you, the men had way more fun than the women!)

After that, I discovered romance.

Did you read Shanna by Kathleen Woodiwiss?

From Amazon:

A pact is sealed in secret behind the foreboding walls of Newgate Prison. In return for a night of unparalleled pleasure, a dashing condemned criminal consents to wed a beautiful heiress, thereby rescuing her with his name from an impending and abhorred arranged union. But in the fading echoes of hollow wedding vows, a solemn promise is broken, as a sensuous free spirit takes flight to a lush Caribbean paradise, abandoning the stranger she married to face the
gallows unfulfilled.

But Ruark Beauchamp’s destiny is now eternally intertwined with that of the tempestuous, intoxicating Shanna. He will be free . . . and he will find her. For no iron ever forged can imprison his resolute passion. And no hangman’s noose will deny Ruark the ecstasy that is rightfully his.

It’s been a hundred years since I read it, but I remember Shanna as a pirate story. LOL. Go figure.

After Shanna I found Bertrice Small’s Skye O’Malley. Whoa! That’s some book!

And my all time favorite, Lady of Fire by Valerie Vayle.

Nobody I’ve ever met read Lady of Fire.

If they did read it, they must have quickly forgotten it. But I didn’t.

It’s the story of a girl who’s just out of convent school. At the beginning, her mother dies just before their ship wrecks and the heroine wakes up to find herself alone on an island. After a day or two, a man who was also in the ship wreck shows up. She falls in love with him, but he doesn’t even remember her name.

As her mother was dying, she told our heroine her father was murdered while working for the government, and the heroine decides to find out who did it. She makes herself over into an independent woman who can swing a sword with the best of pirates.

It’s a long book, but in the end, the hero and heroine fall in love and, naturally, live HEA. (Happily ever after.)

Yeah, I know. A big time fantasy, and I loved it.

The writing probably isn’t the best and much of what she does would probably be found humorous today, but at the time I read it, it was perfect for me! (I once read an interview with one of the authors–yes, Valerie Vayle was actually a pair of writers–and she laughed about the book.)

After that, I knew romance was what I wanted to read. And write. Not about pirates (although there are some great pirate books) but because in a romance, whether it’s Christian Women’s Fiction or Romantic Suspense or Historical Romance, you experience the emotions of the POV characters. You get to live the story through them.

And there’s always a HEA.

What could be better than that?

So what’s your favorite read? Or do you just read a certain author?

If you need a suggestion, let me know. I can help. 🙂

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

2 thoughts on “What’s Yours?

  1. Hi Susan, I had to laugh when you mentioned the possibility of the types of lives one might find interesting. I am 3 of those – a teacher(retired) with grown kids, a full time writer, and a newbie author and newly published. I agree with you, reading is taking a mental journey to another place, another time, and exploring another person’s life. Good post. June

    • Hi June! Welcome to my Small Town World!
      Thank you for your kind words!
      I’m thrilled to hear you’re newly published. I know how much work that can be! Don’t stop there.
      Please, share the name of your book who published it and how we can get a copy.
      (I found that talking up my own books is the hardest part.)
      Congratulations!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

