Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Mourning

7 Comments

Acer laptop

Image via Wikipedia

I’m in mourning.

Yesterday evening, my laptop was pronounced dead. My heart is breaking! (And not just because of the coin it’s going to cost to replace it.)

Weird, I know, but when you think about it, maybe not so much.

Every morning when I got up (usually early) I’d come downstairs and there she’d be, waiting for me. Happy to see me. She even brought up pictures of my kids and oh! So happy memories.

She kept all my important stuff together for me. The books I’ve written. She paid my bills. Kept me in touch with my friends.

Anytime of the day or night, she was there for me. If I wanted to know something, she would tell me–no holding back. She knew what movie star played in which movie. The capital of Bora Bora. What year the polio vaccine was created.

And she knew all about crafts! Beading. Jewelry making. Quilting. Knitting. If I wanted to learn to do a Kirschner stitch, she could tell me. If I didn’t get it, she’d show me pictures. And if I still didn’t get it, she had videos to let me watch someone else do it.

By last night, though, she’d turned blue, then black. When #1 son saw her, he couldn’t get as much as a gasp from her.  I so wanted him to save her. I’d let him try anything. Heart transplant. Mouth to mouth.  ANYTHING.

But the little brat said she was gone.

I miss my girl! 😦

I’ll probably go kicking and screaming, but I’ll have to find a replacement. Right now I’m using  a mini-‘puter we got a couple of years ago when we bought my man his laptop. Handy when your main friend is gone, but just not quite the same.

#1 says only about three companies make computers, and they put different names on them. I’m not thrilled at the idea, but I guess I’ve have to get with it.

Friday I’m having lunch with friends. Maybe I’ll shop afterward. And after I pick up a tube of mascara from Bobbi, and maybe a new eye shadow. That should make the world look brighter.

So what kind of laptop would you recommend? I’m ready to shop!

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

7 thoughts on “Mourning

  1. Our laptop died too! I’ve been without since last Thursday. Wayne bought one last night. its an HP. I don’t really care as long as it works!
    LY

  2. I had an old HP that I loved (thinking maybe yours was one too?). I spent a long time (over a year) looking at reviews etc, because mine would do the ‘blue screen of death’ and then I was able to reload windows and it would creak along for a while longer.

    After many reviews etc, I went with ACER. I had had one at work, and the new HPs seemed to be not working well at all. Plus my old HP got really hot which is lovely for us in the hot flash stage of life. My acer stays very cool, is over a year old and works like a champ. Got it at Office Depot and they took all the extra stuff off it, and loaded Word. My only objection is that I wanted one with good sound, and especially looked at the speaker and sound reviews. It does bizarre things with sound (not good when you do as much sound listening and editing as I do). But a friend had said that I just needed external speakers…yay just what I need….more stuff….

    • Mine was an Acer, Shelly. LOL. And it got so hot I had to get a lap desk to use it. LOL. My husband has an HP and it’s working really well for him.
      They’re probably made by the same company. 🙂

  3. I’ve blown through about three HPs in about six years. It seems every couple of years I have to replace them for some reason. First was the blue screen, second was actually electrocuting me when I touched the front panel where the headphone Jack was. My current one I’ve only had about nine months and it was telling me yesterday that I needed to replace its battery (thankfully still under warranty so they should replace it) HP are fair when it comes to price, which is why I keep going back despite problems, but if I have to replace my laptop again I’m going to invest in a Mac. My friend Nick has had one Mac in the time I’ve gone through three HPs, plus they’re so much more user friendly then they use to be.

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

